Weekend Cooking – Black Bean and Sweet Potato Empanadas

See Beth Fish Reads Blog for more Weekend Cooking posts:  wkendcooking

1270  Just a few of the empanadas I made this week.

The day was Wednesday. It was raining; had been gloomy cloudy rainy all week. I decided to make empanadas which is a great activity to do while listening to an audiobook. I was enjoying The Love Song of Queenie Hennessy which I can thoroughly and heartily recommend if you also enjoyed The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. Queenie’s book is a companion read to Harold’s. Do read Harold’s first because Queenie might spoil what happens on the journey if you read out of order.

tupohfbyrj tlsoqhbyrja

The recipe for my empanadas is from a magazine published (Feb 2014) for the southcoast of Massachusetts. I have not been able to find an online link so I will retype, link to the SOCO Magazine and give credit per this sentence. Will that do?

Ingredients
5 cups peeled and cubed sweet potatoes – I purchased mine from the local Farmer’s Market
1/2 tsp salt
2 Tbsp olive oil
3 cups chopped white onion
1/2 cup chopped scallions (~4, also from the Farmer’s Market)
1-2 Tbsp green chili (I used my last can to make salsa, so I used that instead)
6 cloves garlic, minced
3-4 tsp cumin
3-4 tsp coriander
4 1/2 cups black beans (I used 2 cans of Bush’s brand)
1 bunch cilantro, chopped
2 Tbsp lime juice
3 premade single pie crusts (not enough! I used 5 of those boxes that have 2 rollups, enough for a double crust pie. ALDI has them for $1.69/box (and YES, I do use premade pie pastry sometime.)

Directions

1 |  Place the peeled sweet potatoes in a large pot filled with salted water, cover, and boil until tender. Once done, drain and set aside.

2 |  While the potatoes are cooking, heat the olive oil in a saucepan over low to medium heat. Add the onions, scallions, green chili, and garlic; saute until the onions are translucent Next add the cumin and coriander and stir just for a couple of minute; don’t allow the ingredients to stick to the pan.

3 |  In a large mixing bowl combine the black beans, cilantro, lime ice, and salt to taste. Add the sweet potatoes, and mash the contents to the desired texture. Add the onion, garlic, and chili mixture. Mix well and set aside.

4 |  Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Open the prepared dough and spread each piece over a clean countertop. turn a water glass upside down and press firmly into the dough to cut out circles. (I have an old plastic cup from my college sorority days that makes a nice 4″ diameter circle.)

5 |  Place half of the rounds on a cookie sheet; these will serve as the bottoms of the empanadas. Place 1-2 Tbsp of filling on top of each circle then place another piece of crust on top and pinch the sides together*; press the crust with a fork along the outside edges to seal. Use the fork to poke a few holes in the top of each empanadas so they won’t explode!

6 |  Bake for about 18 minutes, and be sure to watch them so they don’t burn. I serve mine with sour cream and salsa.

*  I use an eggwash to help seal the insides and also brushed on top to give crispy golden color.

I now have dozens of these in the freezer – they make a wonderful quick snack or lunch. Just 40-60 seconds in the microwave but oven warming is best for texture.

If you would like a printable copy, I have stored this in Google Docs. Let me know if it doesn’t work? Click here –> Empanada Recipe <–

pieratingsml

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
23 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking – Black Bean and Sweet Potato Empanadas

    1. They really are good. I love having something handy in the freezer, too. Took me all afternoon! but that’s also how I managed to finish the audiobook. (Sigh. Now I need another audiobook!)

    1. I am SO mad that I didn’t think to ask if you wanted to visit Charlotte last Monday! Not that I could have brought you any empanadas that day, tho.

  1. You make me wish I liked sweet potatoes more than I did! I see this combination of flavors all the time in the vegetarian world, but I just do not like sweet potatoes. I can’t figure out if it is the texture or the taste. Ah well. These look lovely and delicious!

  2. I do love empanadas, but have only ever made them with left-over meat stews. Perhaps a change is due, especially since I have sweet potatoes left over and refried black beans, which should work.

  3. Yep, the Google Docs link worked! This looks so good, and I love that you have them frozen and ready for snacking at any time. I’m going to see if I can get Ward to make them. He’s low-carb now, but maybe he could eat just the filling …

  4. Beth F

    I haven’t made empanadas in a long time, but these sound awesome! I’m so lazy when it comes to pie crust. Yeah, homemade is so much better than those premade ones, but I keep boxes of crust in the freezer. 🙂

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

