My First Classics Spin!

[Updated on Monday Apr 6th for SPIN NUMBER announcement…  Two – 2 – numtwo2]

I have heard that SQUEEEEing is no longer en vogue, if it ever was, but that is how I feel inside. I will abstain from doing any gauche celebrating in order to be acceptable in my community.

Here are my 20 books in anticipation of the soon to be announced CLASSICS SPIN:

[Edited to say that I try to explain what the spin is in my response to the comment I just received…]

1. Things Fall Apart – Chinua Achebe – Just bought this last weekend

2. The Making of a Marchioness (not sure this is on my list but it should be, I went all the way to London for my copy) by Frances Hodgson Burnett

3. The World According to Garp – Irving! (because I want to read this sooner than later)

4. Flowers for Algernon – Daniel Keyes (discussion of possible May readalong)

5. Mansfield Park – Austen (fits the WiaN challenge)

6. Candide – Voltaire

7. From Mixed Up Filed of MBEF – Konigsburg

8. The Double Helix – Watson

9. Wide Sargasso Sea – Rhys

10. One Fine Day – MPD

11. Charlotte Sometimes – Penelope Farmer

12. The Hunter – Parker

13. Cold Comfort Farm – Gibbons

14. The Painted Veil – WSM

15. Love in a Cold Climate – Mitford

16. The Dud Avocado – Dundy

17. And Then There Were None – Agatha

18. Brighton Rock – Graham

19. Orlando – Woolf

20. The Bird’s Nest – Shirley Jackson (rumor? that this is out of print and hard to find? worry about if the number hits)

My selection process for after the top 5 here involved page count. Just saying. Are you playing?

pieratingsml

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
39 thoughts on “My First Classics Spin!

    1. Well, if you are so inclined to join the classics club, you pick 50 books you want to read in 5 years. Then every so often, they host a “spin” where the pick a number between 1-20 and then you have to read whichever book you listed at that number! It’s a way to have someone else pick your next book to read – which is good if you say you want to read something but never seem to get to it. 😀
      The spin is one reason I joined the club. I love the idea and the drama.

  1. Yep, Garp is Irving my friend. I love that book. I am glad you explained the spin somewhere because I had no idea what you were talking about!

    1. I know. I confuse these guys in my head and it is because I have this memory that my father forbade me from reading John Irving (when I was in HS) but in my head, I thought he said Updike. I hadn’t read EITHER author until Owen Meany a few years ago! Crazy, I know, right? But I do know this is Irving. I also hope to read something by Updike so that I can finally separate in my head these two John authors with vowel-starting last names.
      Also funny? Yesterday, I read your comment here and Heather’s as ENDORSEMENTS of the book and not as correction of author until I sat down to reply!

  2. I just joined The Classics Club yesterday because I saw someone post about the spin. My spin list is scheduled to go up on Sunday, and I’m excited! I love that I am not the only person who used page count as a factor in list determination 🙂

    1. By the way, I will root for #14 on your behalf. I LOVED The Painted Veil. (And it lets me off easy for my first Classics Club book, too!)

  3. Welcome to your first Spin. They’re lots of fun & a great way to work your way through your list.

    Hope the spin is kind to you on Monday 🙂

  4. There are so many great books on your list! I agree, The Painted Veil is just wonderful — I’ve read it several times and it’s always great. I loved, loved, loved Cold Comfort Farm and Love in a Cold Climate. . . Wide Sargasso Sea is also great. And I have checked One Fine Day out from library about seven times and still haven’t read it!!

    The only one of those I’ve read but didn’t like was The Dud Avocado, I just couldn’t get into it. But best of luck on your spin pick! My list goes up this weekend.

  5. I rather like how classics are defined in the classics club. I always think of classics as fusty old novels from the 1800s at the earliest … There are several books on your list that are on my want-to-read list too. And I LOVE the spin idea! I think it might be a good way to pare down the TBR stacks, too.

    1. Well, my only definition of a classic is that it is older than me. ha! And it doens’t hurt that somebody anybody says it is 1) worthy for any reason, 2) able to impress somebody (even myself) if I can say “read it”, -OR- 3) just good.
      Fusty is a good word, though.

  6. The Bird’s Nest IS out of print and hard to find. I wish I could send you my copy (I didn’t love it), but I unfortunately got rid of it a few years ago. I know they’ve put several of Shirley Jackson’s books back into print recently though! Maybe The Bird’s Nest is among them!

  7. Argh, I am so tempted now to join the Classics Club. I suck at reading from lists but if someone told me what to read, I would probably read it.

    Fingers crossed for #4!

  8. I’m so glad you joined in the fun! I just put up this classics club spin on the blog because I realized it had been a while since we hosted one. I always love the great response we get. Your list is wonderful too!

  9. I have The Dud Avocado! I even started it! And I liked it, so it’s no reflection on the book that it’s unfinished. In fact, to you use a dated but appropriate term, it was kind of a hoot. Holler at me if it comes up for you and we could read it together.

    1. I am ever so glad that a book I actually own and have in house is the spin result – a book I bought in London! I don’t actually have a copy of the Avocado and truly put it on the list because of the title.

  10. Pingback: Dewey’s Readathon and More, Sort Of | Care's Online Book Club

  11. Pingback: The Making of a Marchioness | Care's Online Book Club

  12. Pingback: I Missed a Spin! | Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

