Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

Thoughts lptnhbyjl Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson – The Bloggess, Amy Einhorn Books/Putman/Penguin 2012, 319 pages

This won’t be a review as such.

I began reading this the day my book club was to discuss it. I finished it the next day – it certainly reads fast! I might have skipped a few chapters and I did read the end before the middle; I kept thinking “Oh, I don’t need to read ALL of it.” But I would often find myself with the book in my hands reading or skimming yet another chapter. So, I feel I read enough of it to count.

It’s funny. It is everything the book jacket says it will be. Over the top, OMG, “no way!!!”,  LOL, etc.

I have only a few things to point out from the reading. Early in the book, she mentions how tough her sister is and there is a reference to squatting and popping out a child while working in the fields. RIGHT OUT OF The Good Earth! Right? Yep. So that is a Copley Connection that thrilled me because our book club had recently read The Good Earth! I have no idea if anyone else noticed this, too, because I was unable to attend the meeting.

And my new book club almost chose to read The Good Earth – but that is too hard of a story to explain. Let’s just say, the title seems to be popping up for me lately.

copleyl

And then there is the reference to the Blue Pie Piece from Trivial Pursuit. So with my ever odd idea to track pie references in my reading, I rate this book FOUR

fourpie  slices of blue pie.

The end.

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
16 thoughts on “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

  1. My brain is having a mini-seizure. Seriously, it’s trying to hide from itself at this point as it grapples with the horror of such phrases as: “skipped a few chapters”, “read the end before the middle”, and “don’t need to read all of it”. You may have just given my brain a heart attack.

  2. I’m currently struggling to write a review of The Good Earth. It’s one of those books that was good and I can see why it’s important, but I didn’t absolutely love it/have some (possibly unsubstantiated) qualms with it. Maybe I’ll get around to writing it. I probably should before too long—I read it in January and might completely forget it soon. 😛

  3. A couple of my friends recommended The Good Earth as their favorite book. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it, but it wasn’t a particular favorite to me. To each his own, I suppose. A good reading experience is always a good use of time 🙂

    1. Yes, our book club expressed mostly good impressions of The Good Earth, and I think we were pleasantly surprised? I love how the review of this morphed into commentary on TGE…

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

