Science Tales

Thoughts stbydc Science Tales: Lies Hoaxes and Scams by Darryl Cunningham, Myriad Editions 2012, 174 pages

a COMIC book? I wouldn’t call it a Graphic Novel because it is not a novel. I’m so out of it on the comic/graphics genre take on books!

And, unfortunately, this book really can’t be praised for helping me figure out if I like this genre or not.

I’m going to say no.

I really have to admit that half way through I realized I was only reading the words and not appraising or appreciating (or even noticing) the illustrations.

Minus:  On a content note, I don’t feel that Cunningham really shared much of the science he was endorsing or refuting on his chapters of  Electroconvulsive Therapy, Homeopathy, Vaccinations, the Moon Hoax, Climate Change, Evolution, Chiropractic Medicine, and Science Denial.

Positive:  I don’t fault the book for attempting to inspire constructive thinking and consideration of the facts. It certainly encourages more research and shares what those sources might be.

So kudos for that.  It’s a quick read, too.

Do please read Debi’s review!

Rating: Two and 1/2 slices of pie. So round up to three.

 

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
7 thoughts on “Science Tales

  1. Yeah, I totally agree this is not the book you want to use to judge whether you “like” comics or not. 😛 I personally don’t even like the art in this book, but I pretty much love anyone who attempts to make this world more science literate, at making people think critically, and at making people look at the sources of information they’re using to form their judgments. It may be that I’ve done lots of reading on most of those subjects, so I filled in lots of gaps on my own (except for the moon landing hoax, which just wow, I had no idea there were people so convinced that it’s all some big government conspiracy). Anyway, I think the science behind these different subjects is so vast that one could never hope to give more than the teeny teeny teeny tiniest glimpse in 20 or 30 pages worth of comics. (Rich has an entire big bookcase of books dedicated to different aspects of evolution alone.) So I kinda took his point in writing the book as more of a nudge to people to “stop and think about where you’re getting your information” rather than “here’s all the facts you need to know about these topics” sort of book.

  2. Now I’m totally curious what other graphics you’ve read! I read Blankets last month and it was amazingly beautiful. Favorite graphic ever–but I really believe there is a graphic for everyone. Maus is a really really powerful biography.

    The difference between comics and graphics from what I can gather is that comics tend to be series but graphic novels/memoirs are standalone–and then sometimes individual comics are then gathered together into a single graphic novel. Meh…just call em what you want.

  3. I have vaguely heard about this one. I don’t remember what I heard or when. I would like to check it out though. I do enjoy graphic books a lot but not ever graphic book should have been a graphic book – there are some that just confuse rather than inspire.

  4. Pingback: in the reading room: a final comics february round-up for 2015 | talking to myself

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

