The Year of the Flood

Thoughts tyotfbyma The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood,

Satisfies the WATER category of the What’s in a Name 8 Challenge.

Unfortunately, though I do remember Jimmy in the tree and the blue people, I do not recall much of Oryx and Crake and what all happened in MaddAddam Part 1. Not that my memory failure contributed in any way to my enjoyment (or not) of this Part 2 but I wish I could remember more.

I do find Atwood’s books amazing. She is a very talented and creative story teller.

“…the reason you can’t really imagine yourself being dead was that as soon as you say, ‘I’ll be dead,’ you’ve said the word I, and so you’re still alive inside the sentence. And that’s how people got the idea of the immortality of the soul – it was a consequence of grammar.”  

My advice? if you like Atwood and you like dystopia and you have yet to read this 3 book series, just gather them in and read in a timely manner.

If you haven’t read either Book 1 or Book 2, there is probably no reason I can think of to say that you MUST read O&C first. You could likely read Flood first and then read O&C and enjoy it just as much.

It’s all about different perspectives on how humans are destroying the Earth. And yet she always manages to bring out the best in people just as she describes how awful we humans can be.

I don’t recall how O&C ended but this one was abrupt and unsatisfying. I didn’t throw it across the room or anything but I did groan in slight frustration. Now I should go get MaddAddam, Book 3 and get it over with but I won’t. I know myself too well.

I just get distracted by all the books I already have and want to read and before I know it, years will have flown by. On the other hand, I bet the library might actually have this…

 

Rating: fourpie Four slices of turnip pie. I actually made a turnip/parsnip/potato pie last month and it was quite tasty. Not pretty to look at though.

 

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

 

24 thoughts on “The Year of the Flood

  1. I loved all three of these, and did read them in order but didn’t reread Oryx and Crake before this one. They probably could be read out of order–the chronology itself isn’t that important; it’s mostly point of view that shifts. Anyway, I hope you read the third sooner rather than later.

    1. I will! I just put it on hold at the library. The next couple of weeks might be busy reading – I need a filler book before Pet Sematary readalong starts and since I don’t yet have MaddAddam in my hands, I will start The Fiction Class tonight! Gotta have a book goin’ at ALL times, right?

  2. I loved all three of these books, and am glad to hear you’re enjoying them so far. There was quite a gap between the first two for me, too, but it didn’t matter too much in the end. There are reminders along the way, and each book is very good on its own. I also found that they were all quite different. I think I found myself laughing a lot in the last one. Enjoy!

  3. I don’t have fond memories of Atwood, mainly because my first experience with her was in a Canadian lit class I really disliked. And then my daughter had to read The Year of the Flood in high school for a class with a teacher she did not like, and Oh. The. Drama. So unfortunately, those are the two things that come to mind for me whenever Atwood comes up. Oh, and her lovely poems in Louise Penny’s books (they are Ruth’s poems), which I do like.

  4. Loved these books! I didn’t read O&C and Flood close together so had forgotten quite a lot of O&C too. The pair both end in the same place and MaddAddam picks up there and moves forward. I like the third book best of all. I plan on rereading them all one after the other some day.

  5. I’d love to read this one. I haven’t read any Atwood book yet but I have Book 1 and 2 of this trilogy. I would like to read the series in order though, and back-to-back. I rarely go back to a series if it’s been a while since I read the first one.

  6. I read O&C and Flood close enough together that it was all good. But I’m now afraid to even try MaddAddam because so much time has gone by. I know…you can just read it for me! 😀

  7. I really loved these… so much that I reread the first two when Maddaddam came out. I think they’re good read close together — I like seeing the characters show up from one book to the next and since I’m terrible at remembering I wouldn’t have been able to put it together far apart.

    1. I don’t think I’ve been this excited about a book since I had a back to back Harry Potter experience. I just got MaddAddam from the library so as soon as I finish The Fiction Class I will start MaddAddam!

  8. Pingback: MaddAddam | Care's Online Book Club

  9. So Oryx and Crake was my very first Atwood novel. I didn’t love it and was actually put off the author for awhile. Then I fell in love with The Handmaid’s Tale and so many others. I think I might need to go back and reread O&C before finishing the trilogy.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

