The Husband’s Secret

Thoughts thsbylma The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty, Penguin Audio 2013, 13’44”

Narrated by Caroline Lee.

WHY I read this:  This is an upcoming selection for one of my book club options. I have 4, possibly 5 book clubs to choose from in my new town, although I’m still waiting to find out if there really is one established in my new neighborhood. I’ve only met one of my neighbors and she is new, too. Neither of us have seen a newsletter or received any info about the group other than the invoice for HOA dues. That’s not true – she has been scolded gently reprimanded for having an ugly trailer sitting in her yard – aghast! Heavens to Betsy – how unsightly!

This book is also a selection coming up in a few months for the club #2 I’ve met. (We had 24 gals participate in a lively discussion of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.) We are to read The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd next which is also the choice for club #1 which meets next week. I just might get away with only reading three books and then hit five different clubs!

 What’s is ABOUT:  Obviously from the title, a wife discovers a secret her husband would prefer to not have anyone know about. I can’t say I guessed this one (I don’t try to figure things out, really) but I wasn’t surprised either. What I was surprised about and am still rather uncertain about is why we followed three different story lines. At first, this was a jolt; took me out of the story once we met Tess and got away from Cecelia – she’s the one with the perfect husband who just might not be perfect afterall. Who is Tess? Why are we learning about her? How is she important?

Do read the Epilogue. It pulls a LOT back together in a fascinating way.

Without giving too much away and confusing you more, let’s just say that on a grand scheme, this book is about choices and actions that have consequences and the consideration of what those MEAN – how would life be different if we had made different choices? How would our lives be different if those who influenced our lives had made different choices? How does time affect these choices and knowing now what was then? The mind-boggling is endless!

What’s GOOD:  Moriarty has a knack for comic observations; those wry bits and pieces that make up a person’s personality. She writes well those every day ‘normal’ people as complex multi-dimensional  characters.

What’s NOT so good: I can’t put my finger on what unsettled me with this book. Other than thinking the Tess line didn’t quite work as a third strand or view point in the tangled mess, I just didn’t get blown away. And maybe I expected to and so… you know. Too high of expectations tempers the reaction to the negative?

FINAL thoughts: Whatever, don’t let me talk you out of reading this – I give it 4 slices of pie! Funny yet shocking(?!), a mystery with  interesting characters and gives one some interesting things to think about on that choices-and-consequences idea. The narration is well done, too.

RATINGfourpie

 

 

 

pieratingsml

 

Copyright © 2007-2015. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
22 thoughts on “The Husband’s Secret

  1. I loved What Alice Forgot by this author so I would like to give this one a try. Lucky you having so many book clubs to choose from! There’s only one in our neighborhood and I do love the women in it but my taste in books is VERY different from everyone else’s.

  2. I’ve heard mixed things about this one but mostly good. I have to come up with two books to pitch for my selection meeting this week. The one that I probably won’t even be able to attend in person because they’ve changed the date a few times. But anyway, I have to come with two suggestions. Not sure what to bring. They’d never go for this one.

    1. Why would they never go for this one? I know I am going to miss my Massachusetts club – we read all over the place!

      OK, here’s the list I got from club#2:
      “When I Married My Mother” by Jo Maeder
      “The All-Girl Filling Station’s Last Reunion” by Fannie Flagg
      “The Round House” by Louise Erdrich
      “The Unlikely Pilgramage of Harold Fry” by Rachel Joyce
      “The Invention of Wings” by Sue Monk Kid
      “My Antonia” by Willa Cather
      “The Husband’s Secret” by Lianne Moriarty
      “The Orphan Train” by Christina Baker Kline

      Some recent some not, some ‘deep’ (I think Erdrich is heavy stuff!), and classic! I missed the first 3 and have read the next 4, so all I have to do is be ready for October with the Orphan Train! I think they skip the summer months…

  3. This is a great book club selection! So much to discuss and enjoy or not. I have only ever heard Caroline Lee narrate Kate Morton’s novels. How was she in this?

    (Also, I am insanely jealous you have five book clubs from which to choose. I can’t even find one! Not that I’m trying all that hard.)

    1. I know, right, FIVE! But like I said, one might be fictional or not welcoming! Who knows – but I admit I am curious. I will try the other day club and possibly skip the evening one until I get a job and can’t stay with the day club…

  4. I liked this one. And I liked BIG LITTLE LIES. I loved Caroline Lee’s narration of both books. I will say that this author makes me laugh. The stories she relates are not comedies, but she certainly has a witty/snarky way about certain characters. Reminds me of the Clairee character in the movie Steel Magnolia’s – if you can’t say something nice, come sit by me. LOL

    The Tess line was a little odd, but that friend and husband. Didn’t you just want to whack them? How could we help it? It just happened. 🙂

    I’m loving hearing about all your book club choices. And you can tell which books are the top picks right now just from your descriptions. Good luck figuring out which you want to stay with or maybe you’ll stay with all 5?

    1. I’ve heard good things about the Alice book, too. I’m just thankful the books are overlapping – it would be very difficult to keep up this club sampling otherwise!

  5. I really need to start looking for a book club. There must be one close by. Are there such things as genre-themed book clubs? I think I’d be far more likely to go to a mystery or fantasy one … Do you think you’ll end up going to all five of them? It’s a pretty good deal if they keep overlapping their choices and you only have to read three book each month and still be current with all five!

    1. I had a much harder time finding a club in Massachusetts! Took me 5 years or so. I had attempted to start one but it just couldn’t hold together. Now in NC, there is a “Newcomers” club and they have 3 different book clubs – and a million table game groups and a bowling league and… I could be busy every day with all they have going on! Then the one at the library and then maybe (rumors at this point) in the neighborhood. NO WAY will I keep up will five! I hope to chose ONE. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Big Little Lies (and I picked the perfect pie!) | Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

