Year End Blatherings and Ramblings; 2014 Edition

This might have to be Part 1.

I have so much to do and yet I so want to get this post up and posted. For some odd reason, these stats and the gatherings and subsequent analysis has been on my to do list but not as consuming as times past. I think I’m still in a dither about what to do with myself now that I’m not studying thus I’m doing absolutely nothing. Oh, I’m vacuuming and walking the dogs and roaming the house between rooms thinking I should organize or toss or … But I end up not getting much accomplished. Including these darn stats!

So I’m jumping in and hoping that these lovely fingers tap-dancing on the keyboard will produce something y’all might want to look at. Here goes.

I read 64 books (including “listened to audios”). sixty4

Will be 65 if I can get the rest of Mockingjay done which is actually quite possible because we are going on a road trip this afternoon. (Assuming I get my list of things done like pack…)

Due to the increase in audiobooks, my reading page counts are low?  13500. My audio hours = 248. Let’s blame school…

My FIVE STAR reads:
The Rosie Project
Slaughterhouse Five
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
The Signature of All Things
The Sparrow
Silver Sparrow
The Color of Water
Gilead
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
East of Eden
The Count of Monte Cristo

TOP book of those above???   oh my. I think I would have to say Gilead. Right now, if you were to ask me, yes, I would say Gilead. Ask me tomorrow, I might say East of Eden. I think the most moving book was The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane. The most fascinating was I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, the most intriguing Color of Water, the most profound was East of Eden. The most amazing was Count, the one that made me laugh the most was Rosie, the one that had me lost in the story – Silver Sparrow, the one that amused me The Signature, the one that had me shaking my head in disbelief – Slaughterhouse, the most what-the-heck-is-going-on?! Sparrow. Many of these appreciations include not just the story, but the experience, the place/setting/mood I was in, or perhaps the back-story, the ongoing continuing stories and the conversations about, the sharing. I actually think I had an amazing reading year. I am getting closer — or farther away! — from knowing what exactly the kinds of books I like to read.

I want to be like Stephen King who says that excellent fancy writing need not be required if the story is good. I don’t want to be a book snob, but I still have some of that tendency.

I still don’t have the ability to figure out what doesn’t work when I don’t like a book! I just know it doesn’t work.

OK, I read 11 FIVE stars, 28 FOUR stars, 20 THREE stars, 4 TWO stars and 1 ONE star. I can’t think of any DNFs right now.

(That ONE star was a book that pissed me off because it ended at a cliff-hanger and if you know me, that is an unforgivable offense. I would never have read it if I had known. Which is one of the problems with me going into books blind. Oh well!)

I read books from most of the decades and a considerable amount of books published this year. I missed the 1900-1910 span but otherwise hit the spread of the Twentieth Century. Read 3 from the 1800s and The Art of War is supposedly from the year 512. That is likely the oldest book I’ve read in quite some time.

I am most proud that I tackled The Count of Monte Cristo AND East of Eden.

I didn’t see very many movies based on books this year. Brideshead Revisited for the Classics Challenge might be my only one! Well, except for Catching Fire, but I read that in 2013 and if I get Mockingjay done, the movie won’t be viewed until 2015. Wow, the years fly, huh?

Three translated works. Seems to be what I always read: 3/year.

I read more Sci-Fi this year. I read more classics this year. I am improving on chunksters.

I have read my 11th King book!

I haven’t yet counted how many of these were on the 1001 Books to Read Before I Die and I haven’t even checked my Female to Male ratio.

(scurries off to do that real quick…)

F = 34, so, M = 30.

What else? NONFICTION!  I think it was a really fiction-heavy year for me and I even counted my text book! 13 NF books. ah, 20% isn’t too bad, actually. Thought it was worse.

What other cool stat am I missing?

Onward! Ready for 2015. hnye

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
30 thoughts on “Year End Blatherings and Ramblings; 2014 Edition

  1. It sounds like you had a great reading year!! Isn’t Silver Sparrow great? It was one of my favorite reads a few years ago. I love the way you gave all your favorites a reason why. Happy New Year Care! May 2015 be filled with family, friends, and good books!

  2. The Rosie Project made my Top Ten Favorites of 2014 too. I still haven’t read Silver Sparrow! I failed miserably at keeping stats in 2014 and at my TBR Pile Challenge again. (1 out of 10 got read, and that 1 was actually done by listening to the audiobook!). I don’t think I’m going to sign up for challenges this year, and stop beating myself up over unread books! I’ll get to them when I get to them! Happy New Year!

    1. Yep, just move those books to the next time period and just keep reading. I like to subscribe to the belief that books arrive in your life at the right time. Happy New Year!

  3. I love reading these end of year stats. It’s always fun to see if we shared in any reading faves. One of these days I will get to East of Eden! Congrats on a great reading year and Happy New Year!

  4. What an awesome reading year you had. I love this wrap-up. I need to go and just look at my five-star reads. Go you for the classics read this year. Isn’t THE COUNT OF MONTE CRISTO fabulous?

    Happy new year to you!

  5. I’m finishing with 64 myself. Between now and midnight, I don’t plan on finishing another one. 🙂 13 nonfiction? That’s pretty good, I’d say. I think I might have had five? I’m not sure. But I’m usually heavier on the fiction too.

  6. Fabulous reading year! I love reading a summary like this. I have such an awful book memory I can never really remember what I thought about most books other than the ones that really impressed me.

  7. Isn’t it funny how sometimes when you have less to do, you get less done. There is something about being supremely busy that also makes you supremely active (not all the time, but sometimes).

  8. aartichapati

    Ok, clearly, I must read East of Eden! And The Rose Project, which I have on my kindle but always forget about (precisely because it is on my Kindle).

    Best wishes for a wonderful 2015!

  9. litandlife

    In terms of reading good books, you certainly had a good year. I loved Gilead – the writing, the story, even the pace. Just beautiful.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

