What’s in a Name 7 and soon 8

challenge_2014wian

My favorite reading challenge is What’s in a Name.

For 2014, year 7 of this challenge, I read multiple books for one category but missed one category, the weather one. If I can make it happen, I will finish Wind, Sand and Stars by 12/31. I heartily HEARTILY recommend Wind, Sand and Stars by Antoine de Saint Exupéry to anyone for any reason, by the way. This will be a reread for me. I own two copies.

By category:

  • Time – The Yearling / Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
  • Number – Slaughterhouse-Five/Vonnegut (or Three Men in a Boat, or The Sign of Four…)
  • Name – My Antonia / Cather
  • Weather –
  • Royalty – The Count of Monte Cristo / Dumas
  • School – 101 Things I Learned in Film School / Landau

hey – FOUR of these are CLASSICS! I was on a classics role in ’14…

I had multiple choices for the Time and Royalty categories, too but didn’t read all the Queen books that I seem to be accumulating. Maybe 2015 should tackle this theme – I have books on most of the famous queens of history and am ready to read more nonfiction.

Now, announcing NEXT year’s WiaN8!

wian15

Categories – books on my shelves that might fit:   wian8

  • Words ending with INGFirst You Try Everything by Jane McCaffery, The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay – Chabon, or Music for a Torching by AMHomes
  • ColorColor by Victoria Finlay or Vreeland’s Girl in Hyacinth Blue
  • Familial Relationship – My choice is Sister Carrie (been wanting to read this forever; it has been on too many upcoming “gonna read” lists!) but I also have The Family Orchard by Nomi Eve which would work or The Kingmaker’s Daughter by Philippa Gregory
  • Body of Water – I think I am going to vote that a flood IS sort of a body of water and choose Margaret Atwood’s Year of the Flood. But Two Rivers by T.Greenwood is an option.
  • CityHard City by Clark Howard
  • AnimalApe House – Sara Gruen or The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery
    HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine
Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
9 thoughts on “What’s in a Name 7 and soon 8

  1. I hope you’ve been enjoying the holiday! I’ve done this challenge a couple of times and it is fun. I did so badly with all of my challenges this year but maybe 2015 will be a better one for that right? Enjoy!

  2. Pingback: I Finished What’s in a Name 8 for 2015 #WiaN15 | Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

