The Count of Monte Cristo

Thoughts TCoMCbyAD Audiobook of 57+ hours. Actually 57 hours and 18 minutes, but I listen at a 1.25x rate…

Though I mentioned before that this narrator will likely make my worst-ever list, I have one word to describe the story and what I thought of this experience:

AWESOME.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
24 thoughts on “The Count of Monte Cristo

    1. I know, right? LOL but once into the story, I found myself getting attached to the voice despite the pauses in weird spots… After that much time with someone… love or hate? I became quite fond of Alan Munro. sigh

  1. I LOVE this book! I’m also impressed you were able to listen to it if the narrator was that bad. It just goes to show how the story really is the most important thing in an audiobook!

    1. Yes, and when you can lose all notice of the peripherals (and yet still obey traffic laws..), I too am amazed I was able to suffer through long enough to get caught by the story. Rare, I’m sure, but it was overcome-able this time.

    1. It took me awhile to get started but it is one of those stories that instantly puts you back into the narrative no matter how long a lapse away might have been. Can’t explain and it certainly isn’t true of all books but this one was do-able.

  2. Karen K.

    I too cannot imagine suffering through 57 hours of a narrator I didn’t like. My library has an edition that’s 47 hours, read by John Lee who’s wonderful. I may have to try it next year.

    1. I am wondering if this one was free… I don’t remember what I was thinking or how I was able to get over the pausing and odd emphasis but succumbed, I did and it worked out ok!

  3. litandlife

    So maybe someday, Mini-me and I will have to do a readalong of the unabridged version of this book. Years ago I read the abridged version but was never sure I wanted to tackle the full mama!

    1. I convinced another friend to read it (not sure HOW I did that but read it she did) and she LOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVEEEEED it – such a cool feeling when it all works out like that, yes?

  4. I remember being surprised by how much I liked The Count of Monte Cristo way back in my younger days. I don’t think I’ve ever listened to an audio book that long!

  5. I tend to quit very quickly if I don’t love a narrator . . . and I don’t love most of them, so I don’t really do audios. Can’t believe you could put up with a bad narrator for that long! Having said that, The Count is one of my all-time favorite books and I periodically reread it so I can understand how you became swept up in it. Glad you enjoyed it!!!

  6. Pingback: BBAW Save-the-Date – Care's Books and Pie

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

