Still Here…

Hello,

I’ve missed you, my little blog…

IMG_3520 IMG_3524 IMG_3522  Newport RI.

You take a little unplanned break and then come back to find a new WordPress editor. Let’s see what happens. I can share a few thoughts on the books I’ve managed to read lately. I’ll tell you that my audiobook-listening has ground to a halt – but I can explain, I think. And just say howdy.

Plus send a big hearty welcome to SomeWhereInABook! I hope I can soon find a few past blog posts to re-link to, if that’s not too much to ask. (Specifically, the Gone Girl one…)

Um, where’s the SAVE-DRAFT button?!

Moving on, just keep going, right?

A Walk in the Woods awitwbybb by Bill Bryson – I liked it very much. Learned a lot about trees and flora and geology, too. Recommended.

 

Out of My Mind oommbysd by Sharon M Draper – Loaned to me from a friend, very apropos of my latest class for school. This is the story from the viewpoint of a 5th grader with cerebral palsy who is very smart but cannot communicate her smarts until she finds an Assistive Technology device that allows her a voice. The book has some very good points to share and perhaps some misses in the delivery and odd plot points. Read through the goodreads.com reviews for examples. I enjoyed meeting Melody and reminded again that we all want to belong and contribute. Respect.

fourpie

 

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy hhgttg by Douglas Adams is exactly what I feared it might be. Sadly, I feel too late to the introduction of it in my life with the story over-hyped for me to truly appreciate its brilliance. Overall, a fun read. 42 (And I think I should plug Jenn Thorson’s There Goes the Galaxy which I read last December and which (now I realize) obviously took inspiration from Adams and his famous book/series. I gave that 4 stars.)

And now, obviously, I recognize that I have been too long away from blabbing about books. I’ll try to do better with my next East Of Eden post. Whoops – that was probably due today?

Carry on. Toodles.

loveCare

I really can’t explain why I haven’t been in the mood to listen to a book. I’ve been BUSY? and got out of the habit. I’ll mow the lawn tomorrow, plug in to The Count of Monte Cristo and see if I remember much. I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

I HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
15 thoughts on “Still Here…

    1. Everyone always says Walk is funny and it has its wit and funny scenes but overall, I found it a sad commentary on how few people support our natural treasures.

      I was underwhelmed by Hitchhiker. Perhaps it was too short and I only need to keep reading the whole series. (but, NO.)

    1. I’ve been playing on devices that are difficult to write posts on. I don’t care what you say, I like my laptop. My Mac. And it has ‘time-out’ moments. Anyway, whine whine whine.

  1. Sometimes I wonder if I would have loved Hitchhiker’s Guide as much if I read it for the first time now. I’m guessing not. I read it years ago and have loved it ever since, but that was long before it was ever hyped for me.

  2. My first read of Bryson’s was A Walk In the Woods and it was probably his best, as I have read many of his travel narratives since then.

    The new WP editor? I got it and then refreshed the page and it went back to the old one.

  3. litandlife

    Hitchhiker’s Guide has just never appealed to me – and if you came to it too late in your life to really appreciate it then it’s probably too late for me, too, even if I was interested. East of Eden on the other hand…one day.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

