East of Eden, Part 1 and then some

Hello,

I am LOVING East of Eden by John Steinbeck. As I have it on audio and it has been a fabulous escape from the real life, I have zoomed ahead and am into the last quarter of the book! I have 5 hours left on a 25.5 hours audiobook. I am in Chapter 42.

I am fabulously impressed. I don’t know why I was so reluctant to read this.

EastofEdenReadalong-1024x1024

“It would be absurd if we did not understand both angels and devils, since we invented them.” 


― John SteinbeckEast of Eden

That said, and if you are still here, allow me to tell you what is going on in the ‘real’ parts of my awake living (and some of my sleeping dreaming time, too.)

We are moving to North Carolina sometime this fall if all goes well. Which it should. No reason all won’t be hunky-dory but as moving is always an adventure, I will just share our new motto:  “We’ll figure it out.”

I have my final project due Sunday in my grad class that I’m taking right now. I have company coming this weekend. My husband is ‘on vacation’. I am trying to ready my house to list (I am cleaning and de-cluttering and then some). I am making phone calls and setting up appointments for painters and septic inspectors and lawn care and storage units, etc.) Oscar has pulled a muscle in his neck and yelps every time he moves.

Never a dull moment.

loveCare

 

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
27 thoughts on “East of Eden, Part 1 and then some

  1. Heather

    Woo! I’m so excited you’re coming to NC!

    And so glad you’re enjoying East of Eden. I’m surprised by how much I am too. I’ve tried to read it before but it didn’t click. I can’t wait to see what that devious Cathy does next!

  2. I haven’t read East of Eden, yet, but I’m a fan of Scott Fitzgerald and have a copy on the shelves. Someday . . .

    Good luck with the move! It is an adventure, all right.

    Poor Oscar. Give him some cuddles from me.

  3. It isn’t a master’s program, it’s a licensure certification program. I have 300 hours of Practicum this fall so NOT an online option and one more class to teach me how to teach students who are English-Language-Learners (because “English as a second language” is no longer an accurate term.) That class is online and 3 times on campus.

    1. I am experiencing bittersweet feelings about leaving good friends and the beautiful states of MA and RI, but also excitement. WFIO = We’ll Figure It Out.

  4. Poor Oscar!!! And Eeeep! You are going to be a busy lady over the next couple of months. I’m sure it’ll all go swimmingly well.

    Finished East of Eden. I’m with you–why was I so intimidated? Probably because of the length. What a fantastic book.

  5. annabelsmith

    I love East of Eden! When I read it for the first time, it felt so rich, I said to my husband, I could read this every few years for the rest of my life and there would always be something new in it.

    I love your motto “We’ll figure it out’ – most wise! Good luck with the move.

  6. Wow! How exciting! Whenever Jason and I talk about moving where we want to and not just because one of us has a job it usually ends up in North Caroilina so I look forward to your journey 🙂

  7. Wow, good luck with the move!

    Every time I get myself to read Steinbeck I’m glad I did. I can’t remember if I ever actually read East of Eden, though. I know we watched the movie in high school. It would stand to reason that we also read the book. All I remember is James Dean. Ha. 🙂

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

