The Humans

Very Quick Thoughts thbymh by Matt Haig, Canongate Books 2013, 304 pages, eBook

I liked this very much.

It had a fun premise – alien must come to earth and destroy some information that earthlings are not yet ready for. The alien decides that he actually likes these primitive people and must make a choice.

I really liked the philosophy. It was witty and warm and wise.

I loved the dog.

I appreciate my friend Nancy who told me to read this. You can read her review here.

Life is crazy for me right now; ask any questions if you have any. For example, QUESTION: ‘Hey Care, is this science fiction?’ ANSWER: ‘Ya know, I have such a tough time that question because I don’t know what frame of reference you are asking that question through. I can tell you that it is a very HUMAN book, more than a book about aliens.’

The book cover above (another cute dog on a cover!!) will link you to goodreads, if you need to know more.

Have a nice day!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
7 thoughts on “The Humans

  1. I adored this book – so warm, and funny, but also a great perspective on how crazy we humans really are! I’m also so glad t see you raise the ‘science fiction’ question. So many readers I know claim not to like science fiction, but science fiction comes in so many shapes and sizes. As you say, this is a book about aliens but it’s more about humans, and that to me is what all the best science fiction is.

  2. As Annabel says, it sounds like science fiction. To me, that means it’s about ideas and has a perspective on a human character from beyond earth.

  3. Argh, I know I posted a comment, here!!! I wonder where missing comments go to hang out with each other.

    Anyway, so glad you loved The Humans! It’s definitely one of my favorites of the year. That list is really what made the book for me.

    I don’t consider it sci-fi, in spite of the fact that there’s an alien, because it’s about humans and thus feels more like general fiction to me. I’m sure it could be classified that way, but I’m glad it wasn’t. It would have definitely missed out on a large portion of its audience if it was classified as sci-fi.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

