The Good Earth

Thoughts tgebypb by Pearl S Buck, Blackstone Audio 2010 (orig 1931), 10 hours 37 minutes

Narrated by Anthony Heald.

I’m at a loss of what to say here.

I don’t think just telling you what this book is about will capture the awe which might describe my reactions. I think that this might be one where all description will fall flat. Like comparing a TV view to a real view of a mountain or a beautiful sunset.

The real thing is just better. If I were to describe this book, I think I would risk making the book sound dull.

There’s a life force to this book that a review can’t capture.

Does this mean that I am going to recommend you run right out and read it? Nope. You’ll have to take the risk by yourself. But there is SOMETHING. Something to this book that is just impressive beyond knowing it is about a Chinese farmer’s life.

Did I like this farmer dude? Nope, not really. He had his moments but mostly, he was just a man. Now his wife? SHE WAS INCREDIBLE. Hellz yea, cuz she was a WOMAN.

Ok, that’s all I gots to say. But there is so much more to this tale, I realize.

We will discuss this in our book club at the end of the month. So far, I think everyone has liked it.

I know I was surprised to like it so much.

Click on the image above to go read about the book if you must have some kind of plot synopsis, etc.  Even better, click on Nymeth’s review and read all the comments (Just click here.)

I am very glad to have read this.

This concludes this audiobook review post.

Rating:  Four slices of pie.
HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
18 thoughts on “The Good Earth

    1. I know now! And you recommend these as well? Not sure I care to read about how the son fall down the wrong path and lose sight of their father’s legacy.

  1. My book club read a book about the author. It wasn’t all that great but it made me want to read this one. I, of course, ran out and got a copy and here it is three years later and it’s still unread!

  2. Karen K.

    I’ve read and discussed this twice with book groups, and both times it was universally loved — we had a record number of people show up to our Classics Book Group that month, I think we had 13 people! I also discussed Pavilion of Women with another group, and everyone loved it.

    I also visited her home in Bucks County, PA a few years ago on a Jane Austen Society tour. It was very interesting, she was quite a remarkable person.

    1. Oh goodness! I can count this for The Classics Challenge. I’m reading so many that I am not sure what will be my final category choices.

    1. Uh, I would say no, but I don’t know if I am one to provide any kind of analysis on such a topic because I’m not sure what exactly you mean. I would not call her pro-colonialism, anyway, based on the definition google just game me (exploitation economically?). Perhaps I should direct you to Nymeth’s review?

      1. aartichapati

        I probably should have been more clear, no worries. I just thought she might be more like a Rudyard Kipling in the way she spoke of China and the Chinese, but sounds like that may not be the case.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

