Literary Road Trip

I had the pleasure of attending a poetry reading in a lovely setting last week:  IMG_3199 The Hill-Stead Museum in Farmington CT. The Sunken Garden Poetry Festival is held Wednesday evenings throughout the summer. We enjoyed headliner IMG_3210 Frank Bidart, opening poet Benjamin Grossberg and music entertainment IMG_3192 Alien Folk Music.

“then the voice in my head said

WHETHER YOU LOVE WHAT YOU LOVE

OR LIVE IN DIVIDED CEASELESS
REVOLT AGAINST IT

WHAT YOU LOVE IS YOUR FATE ”
― Frank BidartIn the Western Night: Collected Poems, 1965-1990

Unfortunately, I didn’t take the opportunity to purchase Bidart’s book but it is on my wishlist and I encourage anyone to seek out and attend such an event with this poet. Mr. Bidart was fabulous at reading his poems and was a delight to experience in this beautiful setting. We had a lovely lovely time.

The next day, I visited the Mark Twain House in Hartford. IMG_3216 IMG_3217 IMG_3218 Now I’m inspired to read a Mark Twain. I *think* I have read Tom Sawyer but I really am not sure about that and probably should attempt Huck Finn but does anyone have a suggestion? He is one of those great American authors whose works are so familiar that it is difficult to decide what to read. I’m thinking that an audio experience might be the way to go.

“Go to heaven for the climate and hell for the company.”  (so many great quotes from Sam, yes?!)

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
12 thoughts on “Literary Road Trip

    1. That’s what I was thinking – I really do like the classics on audio and what with the dialects and humor, should be a good one.

      PS – post card in the mail to you! Trying to shock the mail carrier some more.

  1. What a fun trip! Huck Finn is my favorite of Twain’s books. Some of his shorter ones are interesting as well, but he usually has a dark twist in them even if you think it’s going to be a comedy.

    1. I feel like I should at least attempt that “Great American Novel” of his. I have been know to tease obnoxious people who want to know what I ‘do” that my goal in life is to write the next G-A-N and have people look at me blankly and then I can explain with almost-snotty voice, “Great American Novel?”

  2. OK, your next New England trip will need to be enough days where we can see Mark Twain House, run up to the Berkshires to see Edith Wharton’s, over to Concord – lots there, and … I dunno, maybe New Bedford and see where Herm got inspired for Moby Dick? Oh, I suppose we could visit Nathaniel Hawthorne’s place, too. Have you read House of Seven Gables? Me, neither.

    and yes! It was lobster-riffic! I can’t believe anyone would notice.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

