Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Thoughts dosabbylt by Laini Taylor, Hachette Audio 2011, 12.5 hours

Narrated by Khristine Hvam.

WHY this/now:  This was offered a few years ago as a book club choice but not selected. I had tbr’d it at that time but lately was craving an audio experience that was different from my standard fare. This won a BEST AUDIO Award so that was good enough for me. (Plus, if you are out of credits at Audible, this is reasonably priced – or was the day I bought it. I am all about the time per dollar.)

What’s it ABOUT: A young girl is studying art in Prague, she speaks many languages and has a family of sorts that she really can’t talk about. Her family isn’t human.

OK, to be spoilery, I might have to admit that I thought is was going in one direction and it surprised me. The first half of the book was fabulous! I was swept up into the world – great world-building, by the way. And I liked our girl Karou and loved her blue hair and the twinkle in her eye when she tells the truth knowing it will be accepted as not-truth.

But the second half had pieces that made me weary with too long mental rehash of thoughts and feelings. “Oh! I wish he would just kiss me, or do I? Is that what I want? I think I want him to kiss me but I don’t know, blah blah blah.”

Overall, I get why this is a hit and the audio narration was good. The story is new (to me?) and inventive. World-building and character descriptions were beautifully done.

RATING:  THREE slices of blueberry pie.

Other REVIEWS:  Jill at Rhapsody Books (go see the list of awards this book was won!), the Book Bloggers Search Engine Results

 

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
14 thoughts on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone

  1. I’d love to tell you that the reaction pages with feelings feelings thing gets better as the series goes along, but it sadly gets markedly worse. However, I was so in love with the worldbuilding that I still loved the second and third books — I just skimmed past some of the pages where everyone was thinking about their feelings. Settle down, characters! If a social worker’s kid thinks you’re processing your feelings too much, you probably should consider cutting back. :p

  2. And you’re mentally screaming JUST KISS HIM ALREADY!!! I haven’t read this one but I keep hearing good things. I *think* I might have it on audio (if it was part of YA Sync a few years ago) but I don’t remember. Obviously I haven’t been rushing out to get to it.

  3. I read this one last year and I have to admit I don’t quite remember how I felt about it, except that my reaction was sort of similar to yours: at first it pulled me in and then it seemed to start dragging a little and became very similar to other YA/paranormal books we’ve seen so many of in the past years with all the romantic angst in there. I can’t say I remember enough to even feel comfortable picking up the second in the series. I’m afraid I’d have to reread parts of it just to be able to follow along the next book!

  4. Pingback: YAY! It’s June | Care's Online Book Club

  5. The world-building of this book was amazing! I read it last year and I think it was possibly the only YA book I picked up that I actually enjoyed thoroughly, even the angsty bits. (I felt like this was one of the rare cases where the angst was actually earned.)

  6. Pingback: The Wrath and the Dawn | Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

