The Yearling

Thoughts tybymkr by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Aladdin Classics 2001 (orig 1938), 509 pages, tradeback

 

I read this because it won the Pulitzer Prize Letters and Drama Award for Novel 1939.

I read this because the author and I are both alumnae of the sorority Kappa Alpha Theta.

I read this for the Classics Challenge: An American Classic. classics2014

This book might also satisfy the TIME category of What’s in a Name 7, if I want to ‘double-dip’.

The blurb in goodreads:  Young Jody adopts an orphaned fawn he calls Flag and makes it a part of his family and his best friend. But life in the Florida backwoods is harsh, and so, as his family fights off wolves, bears, and even alligators, and faces failure in their tenuous subsistence farming, Jody must finally part with his dear animal friend.

Have you read it?

This is becoming one of those books that I appreciate reading more now that I’ve finished than when I was in the middle of it. It is just growing on me the more I contemplate the experience.

It is a classic, it is certainly Americana, it is a coming of age story, it is hard-scrabble & rough-living. Dialogue is in vernacular. A glimpse into a life that no longer exists.

I will likely think of this book every time a bear sighting makes the news (or my Facebook page). I think what makes this most sad for me is that kids rarely now can have such an experience to run off by themselves and enjoy nature.

I did not cry.

I am amazed this book isn’t on the 1001 Books to Read Before I Die.

Also, I couldn’t have found a more interesting contrast with my current read The Omnivore’s Dilemma if I had tried! Both discuss food and food source.

Rating: Four slices of pie. Sour Orange Pie – unfortunately, I may never have the chance to make this myself but apparently it is on the menu at The Yearling restaurant in Cross Creek Florida.

WORD
p. 444 – swivet – a fluster or panic.

 

 

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
4 thoughts on “The Yearling

  1. I expected The Yearling to be sadder than it was — I didn’t cry either! Charles Lindbergh’s daughter wrote a book about modern-day kids who could travel into storybooks, and they traveled into The Yearling to help Jody, and it led me to believe that The Yearling would make me cry quite a bit. (Instead of not at all.)

    1. Huh. Something tells me that time travel to help Jody would make a good episode of the Twilight Zone and NOT. END. WELL. not that this one actually ended well, anyway. Anyway….

  2. Pingback: YAY! It’s June | Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

