The Signature of All Things

Thoughts tsoatbyeg The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert,  Penguin Audio 2013, 21.75 hours

Narration by Juliet Stevenson. Thank you to Joann of Lakeside Musings who sold me on the idea to listen to this one. Fabulous recommendation.

I do love long audiobooks! This one had me from the get go.

I am one of those that loved Eat, Pray, Love but haven’t read any of her subsequent nonfiction books. I hope to, though. And with this, so curious how she would do with fiction. I liked it very much. Some may not read her books based on her first and that is a pity but I think she will be just fine and her writing career is set.

I liked Alma Whittaker. I was fascinated by her father and his story of how he came to wealth. I thought his marriage to Beatrix extremely fortunate for them both – they suited each other.

I didn’t quite get Prudence. Never did get a satisfactory answer to “the Prudence Question”, did we?

I am marking this Historical Fiction due to how well she covers the 1800’s and the history of the players in Evolution Theory. I am now thinking of this book EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. that I see moss!

If you like to have true visual of setting and want to know more about this book, watch this video:

RATING: Four slices of pie. And a few bites into the fifth slice, too.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

 

 

21 thoughts on “The Signature of All Things

  1. I didn’t read Eat, Pray, Love when it came out but I did see a good chunk of the movie one day and thought that yes, I wouldn’t mind reading the book. Four slices of pie? If i had to choose between the two books, which should I read first?

    1. Ooooooo – I don’t know. I am not sure I am the best to make recommendations to you! Maybe if you are in the mood for fiction, of the sprawling life of a lady botanist; her loves, her disappointments, her travels? Huh – that could also describe Eat Pray Love! but that one is modern and most especially a memoir.

      I have not seen the Julia Roberts movie but if you liked what you saw, I would think the book is still better. I had heard the movie wasn’t that great but I don’t know many who saw it.

  2. Amie Lout

    Was on the lookout for a good book club read, we have been flying high in ours with some great reads and want to keep the streak alive, we are just finishing up Strange Birth, mostly a historical fiction read about 1950’s TV, been very interesting. I recommend that one, it has raised some great discussions. It’s by Julian Stone, Juliandavidstone.com is his site I believe. I loved Eat, Pray, Love the book…the movie wasn’t my favorite. This work of Gilbert’s I bet will be fantastic!

  3. I’m definitely planning to read this — some vacation when I have large chunks of time at my disposal for such a big book. It looks amazing. I love reading about Victorian lady scientists.

    1. I seem to fly through some books – this was less than a week. Listened during every driving opportunity and cleaning (or not) time.

  4. I haven’t read anything by Gilbert, but I would like to at some point. I admit to being more drawn to fiction so this one appeals to me, especially the historical aspects of the story. I am glad you enjoyed it!

    As a side note and totally off the subject, my midwife has the same last name (Gilbert) and to this day I have a hard time remembering her first name. I always think it’s Elizabeth, but I’m pretty sure it’s not.

    1. I hope you enjoy this if you get to it. I would rec this or Eat, Pray, Love. The last especially, if you want to know what all the fuss was about.

  5. I really really liked this book. And I happened to like EAT PRAY LOVE and COMMITTED too. I think Gilbert’s writing is really great. And she made a book about moss (and a few other things) extremely engaging for me.

    Thank you for posting that video. I hadn’t seen it, and I loved seeing the settings and the book!

    1. I know, right? I was thinking as I read it, wondering, if there were any places near Philly that was likely to be White Acres… ALSO, when I googled about the lover boy Mr. Pike to see if he was ‘real’ and mostly to view his orchids paintings, Liz Gilbert provides a link to that inspiration, too. Did you know she inspired the movie Coyote Ugly?!?! I just NOW found that out… Interesting lady.

  6. So glad you enjoyed this! Alma really grew on me, too. I loved gaining a deeper understanding of her over the course of her life… and actually ended up enjoying this book far more than expected. No real answer to the Prudence question as far as I could see. Juliet Stevenson is an amazing narrator. I recently finished listening to Middlemarch… she definitely helped pull me through.

  7. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday | Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

