The Garden Party and Other Stories

Thoughts tgpbykm The Garden Party and Other Stories by Katherine Mansfield, Kindle Edition 2012 (Orig 1922), 192 pages

A lovely LOVELY collection! Though it has been well over a month since I read this, I can still recall the wit and deep meaning wrapped up into interesting little stories. I can see why Virginia Woolf would admire her writing; they were in the same ‘set’ of modernist writers so says Wikipedia. I must finally get to my bio of Woolf so I can find out more. I really didn’t know anything about Katherine Mansfield before researching books for the Classics Challenge and seeing this on the list of Books To Read Before I Die.

180px-Katherinemansfield She died young; age 34 in 1923.

The Garden Party was my favorite of the stories – masterful! A wealthy family plans a picnic when a poor neighbor suffers a tragedy. The debate begins of whether or not it is proper to continue with the party. Well, of course it is. Right? No answers, just interesting thoughts and contrasts on sensitivity of youth and propriety. Complex and insightful; very easy to read.

Recommended.  FREE eBooks available.

Read for the Classics Challenge – Woman Author Category.

“Laurie put his arm round her shoulder. “Don’t cry,” he said in his warm, loving voice. “Was it awful?”

“No,” sobbed Laura. “It was simply marvellous. But Laurie—” She stopped, she looked at her brother. “Isn’t life,” she stammered, “isn’t life— ” But what life was she couldn’t explain. No matter. He quite understood.

“Isn’t it, darling?” said Laurie.

fourpie

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
12 thoughts on “The Garden Party and Other Stories

  1. aartichapati

    I really enjoyed this one, too! I should read more by Mansfield.

    Have you ever read Barbara Pym? I have a feeling you would enjoy her.

    1. Yes, I have read Barbara Pym; her most famous EXCELLENT WOMEN. It’s been a long time but I remember enjoying it very much. Thanks! I guess I should read more by her…

  2. trish422

    I’ve only read one Mansfield short story ever – and right now I can’t even remember the name of the story. But I do remember her name, so that says something. 🙂

    1. Yes, that IS saying something. I mean, I didn’t even know who she was until this book. Or had forgotten about her, or? Of course, I don’t think I knew who Virginia Woolf was before The Hours movie came out way back when – over 10 years ago already? wow.

  3. I still haven’t read any of her stories, but I’ve heard they’re wonderful. Last year I got a gift of a six-month subscription from Persephone books, a new book every month. One of them was Mansfield’s The Montana Stories. I don’t know if I should read that one or start with The Garden Party because it’s so famous. Thanks for linking your review!

  4. The Garden Party is one of those books that I started and didn’t finish. Can’t remember how many stories I read but I loved the stories. At the time, I remember thinking I should review each story separately and then I didn’t want to read further so they didn’t all run together in my memory . . . stupid reason not to finish a good book. Should break it out again, soon. It’s a keeper.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

