Playing Dead

Thoughts plbyjh Playing Dead by Julia Heaberlin, AudioGO 2012, 10.4 Hours

Narrator:  Madeleine Lambert

January BOOKIES Book Club Selection

What it’s ABOUT:  This is a mystery/thriller about a woman who is a child psychologist and former rodeo competitor who discovers she may not be who she thought. With her father recently deceased and her mother in a nursing home suffering Alsheimers, she has no one to ask. Trouble seems to find her and she races through clues and abductions to solve the mystery.

I liked it well enough. Listening to a mystery is not a good idea for me. When I think I’ve missed something a few minutes/pages prior, I don’t have a good way to go find it and work out my confusions. Plot pace was good, characters interesting enough, odd clues finally tied up at the end.

QUESTION:  When you read a book and want to flip back to reread something, are you the kind of person who has a general idea or visual memory of which part of the book and which part of the page to look?  I am. I can usually find what I’m looking for in a physical book but am horrible at it with eBooks and Audiobooks. We had this discussion at “pre-” book club the other day…

Narration was sufficient. POV was from the main character, a girl named Tommie. She had a gentle Texas drawl; I couldn’t tell you if authentic. However, the voices for her young niece and her supposedly hot boyfriend were not good at all. The niece sounded like a goofy three year old rather than a middle schooler and the boyf sounded like a dullard.

Three slices of pie.

.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
12 thoughts on “Playing Dead

  1. I have the same kind of visual memory. I have a general idea or can visualize it. That may be why I’m pretty terrible at audiobooks too. Good insight. I never thought about that before.

    1. Actually, one reason I started audiobook-ing was to try and improve my listening skills. I think it just depends on the kind of book and how well I am engaged. duh.

  2. Ruthiella

    I often zone out when listening to audio books and have to re-listen to huge chunks to find my place again. Definitely it is easier for me to find something I have missed in the physical book. I usually have a good idea when it happened, in what chapter etc.

    Audiobook narration is tricky. It is rare, I think, when a man does a woman’s voice well and vice versa…and kids…even tougher!

    1. I never seem to zone out during King books! If I do, usually it is something that the 30-second-replay button can fix.

      So true on narration. And I found that the really bad ones are REALLY bad! I have been lucky that most of my audiobooks have been good.

  3. I can never read a mystery for the first time in audio, so I do primarily audio rereads when it comes to mystery. Strangely enough, I don’t seem to have that problem with other genres in audio. I think it’s probably because I can’t flip back to recheck something I think might have been a clue, and then it drives me nuts because I think I might have missed something. I have yet to try King in audio, although I have 11/22/63 waiting for a reread on my iPod.

    1. Yes, I think that is the issue – just no first time mysteries on audio for me! I’m not a re-reader, however, or rather, it’s extremely rare that I re-read something but I know I have wondered about audio as the way to re-read. Anyway. Point: I think 11/22/64 for a re-read but via audio might be awesome!

  4. I only pay attention to audio books when I listen to them on the treadmill. The rest of the time I zone out and get distracted by other things. It’s a work in progress.

  5. I have a visual memory too. I can NEVER go back through an ebook to find what I want, but always know where about on the page a quote or statistic was in a regular book. That’s part of why I don’t do big reviews of audiobooks — I can’t go back through them to find the bits I want to write about.

    1. Yep, for us visual folk, the bookmarks in an audiobook are rather wasted effort, donchathink? Audiobooks are so tough. But I do enjoy them when they are great.

  6. I really enjoyed Playing Dead when I read it.

    In answer to your question, yes, I do tend to remember things like that when reading–the general location of a particular part I want to go back and review.

    I started listening to audio books a couple years ago and while I do not listen to a lot of them, I am trying to listen to more. Like you, I would really like to improve my listening skills. I have learned I shouldn’t listen to nonfiction–I really do better with fiction or books in which remembering every little detail isn’t important. I am a distracted listener and occasionally my mind wonders. I also don’t have a lot of time to listen–or rather I find it hard to make the time.

    1. I have had good luck with nonfiction on audio – but only the memoir type of NF. I recall being torn with a Tom Bissell book about vietnam. I was frustrated that I couldn’t take notes and I knew my review would be awful but I enjoyed the listen anyway.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

