Classics in 2014

classics2014

Click the button above to go to Karen’s Announcement Post for this challenge…

I’m signing up for another challenge! I have shied away from this one in the past but then I realized that I like classics and I like to read books on that 1001 crazy list so WHY NOT?

photo-83
This photo links to my goodreads shelf…

 
 The 2014 categories: 
Required:

  1. A 20th Century Classic  – something by Virginia Woolf (Orlando or Flush)
  2. A 19th Century ClassicThe Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas (in house and maybe audio, too)
  3. A Classic by a Woman AuthorThe Garden Party by Katherine Mansfield (free for Kindle!)
  4. A Classic in Translation – The Autobiography of Saint Therese of Lisieux: The Story of a Soul   √
  5. A Classic About War  – The Art of War by Sun Tzu (in house, have had this forever)
  6. A Classic by an Author Who Is New To YouSister Carrie by Theodore Dreiser (in house) or something by Zola
Optional Categories:
  1. An American Classic – The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings (have in house, bought because author is KAΘ)
  2. A Classic Mystery, Suspense or ThrillerThe Sign of Four (Sherlock Holmes) by AC Doyle (eBook, for WiaN7)
  3. A Historical Fiction Classic –   (will probably skip this one)
  4. A Classic That’s Been Adapted Into a Movie or TV Series – Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh (in house)
  5. Extra Fun Category:  Write a Review of the Movie or TV Series adapted from Optional Category #4

Very excited!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
12 thoughts on “Classics in 2014

    1. I don’t feel really consider myself a ‘classics appreciator’ but lately over the last few years, I’m drawn to them. I might as well try! Plus it makes me commit to books I already own.

  1. Yay! I love this challenge and I’m glad you found a spot for Brideshead. It’s an interesting look at youth, regret, religion, etc. Sign of Four is my favorite Sherlock novel!!!

  2. Thanks so much for signing up!!! I’ve never read Sign of Four, maybe I should put that one on my list. And I hope you get a chance to read Zola, he’s just awesome.

  3. You’ve got some tough ones there. I need to comb through some classic lists to see which ones I want to read this year. I feel as if I haven’t read one in a long while.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

