The Story of a Soul

For the Long Awaited Reads Month and the Translation category of the Classics Challenge:

LAR Button Final

classics2014

The Story of a Soul:  The Autobiography of Saint Thérèse of Lisieux.  taotolbytdl Doubleday, originally pub’d 1898, 159 pages

I’ve been wanting to read this one forever or ever since it was referenced in something else I read and I realized I didn’t know much about her. Plus I have the tradeback book in the house. AND! it seems like a good January “New Year” kind of book, doesn’t it?  I wish I could remember which book put me onto it…  Let’s investigate. If I added Thérèse‘s book in July 2012, then it’s likely that a book I read about that same time was the one that referenced it. OK, the only books I read that could possibly have mentioned our saint was Rubin’s The Happiness Project or possibly? Wild from Cheryl Strayed. I’m gonna bet it was Gretchen Rubin. I should still have it in the house – maybe I put in a post-it note. No note but YES! A mention in the Suggestions for Further Reading!!  Great, that is settled. (and now I see that I actually did write a note on this in goodreads. Huh.)

Other great things this has going for it:   Nonfiction, really old, set in another country (France), translated (French)! Win-win on a lot of goals I listed for this year. My copy was published 1989 but uses the Intro written in 1957 by translator John Beevers.

Very much a religious book of a girl who was extremely zealous and conscientious of wanting to live every second of her life with 100% of her being, her mind and her heart totally focused on her God. (Is ‘extremely zealous’ redundant?)

pieratingsml

EatMy HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2014. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
4 thoughts on “The Story of a Soul

    1. Yes, she did go see the Pope. She wanted permission to join the convent before the recommended age. She was quite bold and spoke to him after being told not to. I’m sure she was thinking, “I came all the way here and now they won’t let me talk to him?! Fooey on that.”

  1. Karen K.

    Interesting, I’ve never heard of this one. I can’t imagine being able to just walk up and see the Pope! But nowadays, it might even be possible. Thanks for linking your review to the Back to the Classics Challenge!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

