Year 2013 Reading Review

It’s the most wonderful time of the year…

I read 60 books!! I count my DNFs, but sometimes, I only count the pages that I actually read. Sometimes I don’t. Aint this gonna be fun?

I know this shows that I read 59…  um,

GR2013bks

(I can’t remember how I cut just the image above but it was before I finished the 60th book: The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt…)

Ratings breakdown:  13 FIVE 22%, 24 FOUR 40%, 16 THREE 27%, 5 TWO 8% and 2 ONE 3%.

Longest book read and longest book title:   SAME BOOK!  Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, clocking in at 875 pages.

Over 60% of my books this year were penned by female authors. Female 37 to Male 23.

The 11 chunksters (>450 pages) comprised 7677 pages or 41% of total pages read  —  18,621.

I read 6 books less than 200 pages. I averaged 358 pages a week; 310 pages per book. I tell ya, The Goldfinch in 5 days helped a LOT.

I read 8 more books on the 1001+ Books To Read Before I Die List. I only read 5 last year.

I listened to 14 audiobooks, two more than last year but only 10 more hours. I listened to 241 hours!!

Three books were translated from another language;  Italian, Swedish and Dutch. I read a book set in Amsterdam and visited Amsterdam.

Highlight of my book blogging experiences involved travel – I bought a book at the Persephone Bookstore in London and I had lunch with Judith in Amsterdam.

TOO many books set in the United States?  Other exotic locales I visited were Wales, Ireland, Canada (surprisingly, only 1), Australia (twice), North Korea, Italy, Antarctica, Iran, France, Japan, Sweden, somewhere nondescript in Europe (Calvino’s IoaWNaT). I covered a lot of ocean water with Moby Dick and Unbroken, I suffered war in Ancient Greece/Persia (The Song of Achilles), and I spent some time traveling the galaxies.

I read only 9 nonfiction books compared to 17 last year! yikes.

Stephen King and JK Rowling competed for most books read by same author with THREE. Rowling won with pages numbers; I finished the Harry Potter series for a total of 2281 pages read but King only got 2065. He would have won with hours listened to since I audiobooked ALL of his. I just love to listen to his words and the narrators chosen to read them.

I FINISHED THE HARRY POTTER SERIES!!!!  Now I finally get all the references…

And how about MOBY DICK? Just how many books do you read that reference Herm’s masterpiece? a LOT.  Including The Goldfinch, by the way… This is the book that I was most surprised with. I liked it much more than I ever expected to. It’s really quite a treat to the senses.

I think I read 20 books as part of a readalong and/or book clubs.  The Shining was the most fun because of everyone who tweeted and sent gifts. GIFTS!

Again, I did a horrible job tracking debuts but I know I read some astonishingly good ones:  The Light Between Oceans, The Orchardist, The Good House, The Song of Achilles.

I read 42 new to me authors. Yikes!  The ones I hope to repeat on that list?  Beth Howard, Donna Tartt, Kate Atkinson, Maria Semple, and SJ Gilman.

2013 was a great reading year for me – diverse, chunkster-full and classic-surprising. For my next year’s reading goals, I do hope to visit a few more worldly spots and enjoy some more nonfiction. Bring it on.

Thank you for allowing me to share my bookish thoughts with you. I appreciate you!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
15 thoughts on “Year 2013 Reading Review

  1. I love reading stats like this, I didn’t count debut authors in my breakdown (rats!), next year 🙂
    You really did read some chunksters. I applaud you taking on Moby Dick. There are lots of classics I hope to get to someday, but I’m not sure this os one of them.
    Happy New Year!

    1. I keep track – or TRY to – on genre, setting, prize-winner or not, etc but I don’t really have the time to be thorough and report on ALL of it!

  2. I love seeing what everyone keeps track of throughout the year! I’m so excited to read The Goldfinch, especially after hearing what you had to say about it.

    Have a very lovely new year dear Care!

  3. Happy new Year sweet CarePie!! What a great year for you. Though I had to laugh a bit at the page count for Stevie. I definitely think he won for me but it’s tough to count hours listened versus pages read (since I usually read and listen to his books).

    We need to do another readalong of something in 2014. Hmmmm…suggestions?

    1. Trish, I don’t care about the risk of counting twice. If I read AND listen I track page counts AND hours! So yea, Uncle Stevie doubles up for the WIN.

  4. You read so many chunksters this year! Plus, you had a fantastic reading year! Right now on my desk, sits a beautiful card that I bought just for you. Now I just need to write in it and mail it. 🙂 Happy New Year, Care! Thanks for being such a good friend.

  5. Pingback: 2013 Reading Stats | Regular Rumination

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

