Harry Potter. The Finale.

hpathbp hpatdhbyjkr

I’m done! I’ve read them ALL!  I’m thrilled to have this personal challenge complete. Thank you to everyone who has cheered me to this finish line, who encouraged me to keep at it, who loaned me copies of their own books or even just considered and decided I was not worth the risk. Thank you to everyone who envied my reading-for-the-first-time because once done, can never be done again. And thank you to the few of you who wondered why I would bother. I did it!  I enjoyed the whole experience.

I feel this to be a tremendous accomplishment. I’m quite proud of myself.  It only took me 16 months (funny, I thought it took longer.) I sought out borrowed non-library books, by the way. I had book #7 waiting a long time and then suddenly over Columbus Day I was presented with book #6 and swoooosh! I was done. They read SO fast.

I am not going to bother with any review. I liked the stories and loved the characters and even cried a little at the very end.

Now I get to watch the movies!

H

H

PS – After finishing book #7 but still not having a very good memory of what number is which title and late the night I decided I should watch a movie, I couldn’t figure out which of the films I’m supposed to watch next since they don’t put the number in IMDB… I decided to watch the one with Sirius Black. Had NO idea that it would be the scary mean guy from The Professional (must see if you never have – Jean Reno as the ‘good’ guy and a young Natalie Portman – a top 5 favorite movie for me. I wonder if it is based on a book; must find out…) and of course — GARY OLDMAN! A nice surprise. But the movie was TOO SHORT.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
15 thoughts on “Harry Potter. The Finale.

  1. Wow, congratulations! I stopped at 4, and that was a million years ago, so now if I am to continue on, I have to start all over, so I probably will be recapitulating your project eventually. …or maybe just go straight to the movies, ha ha

  2. Congrats on finishing! I never got into the HP movies that much, and never even saw the last couple, but I know that some (or at least one?) of the books were split into two parts when they made the movies out of them, so maybe the one you saw was only half of the book? P.S. I hate to think what LibraryThing admins would have to say about your tags on this post! 😉

  3. I’m glad you finished them, even if they weren’t earth shattering for you (and you won’t be going to any theme parks). I wonder what I would have thought of them if I had read them at a different point in life. I read the first half in high school and then read each new book as it was released through college. I was on the cusp on being a “real” adult, but I could still hang on to a bit of the magic of childhood. Still, it’s good to know what all the fuss is about.

  4. Congrats!!! These are the first books that Scott read on his own free will (thanks to his lovely next-door-neighbor future wife) so they hold a special place in my heart. I’m glad you finished them and enjoyed them so much. And yes, I STILL have a hard time picturing Gary Oldham as Sirius Black. I admit to having a bit of a crush on Sirius in the books…

  5. LOL! I LOVE The Professional too and I think it’s so funny you associate you still associate Gary Oldman with that movie. Natalie Portman was flawless. I think I need to watch it again 🙂

    1. Can’t count how many times I’ve seen The Professional and have loved Jean Reno ever since. Yes, Oldman rocked the meanest guy ever role in it, too. Another favorite movie is Payback… And Lucky Number Slevin?
      In today’s subbing job, I got to ‘study’ The Outsiders and really need to see that movie again.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

