A to Z: It’s All Me & My Books

Thank you Trish for posting on this and I know I saw it somewhere else and they deserve credit but am not sure … Maybe MELISSA at Avid Reader? Post on/about her, soon… Trish credits the original source so go visit her if you haven’t already.

AtoZsurvey-1017x1024
Author you’ve read the most books from:  Wow, I just might have to admit Stephen King because, like Trish, we got totally swept up in a King-Twitter-Mania last year and I read so many I almost wonder if I overloaded and developed a reaction. An ADVERSE like, overdose, reaction. I really need some space from his books.

Best Sequel Ever: Going with a tried and true series from my youth:  The Chronicles of Narnia.

Currently Reading: Well, I started The Great Santini by Pat Conroy based on a recommendation of the author from a new friend after I admitted that I really didn’t know this Conroy she spoke of. 

Drink of Choice While Reading: Probably wine or beer. Or coffee. Or water. I never really pay attention to this link-up.

E-reader or Physical Book? I prefer a physical book but am not opposed to an e-reader. In fact, I’m trying to justify getting a Kindle when I have an iPad. But it’s the ol’ read-in-the-sunshine issue…

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School: Dated in High School?! What’s that? I was studying. But… I could have a crush on most male characters in any/all John Green book.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:  The Book Thief. I can’t recall what I really expected of it before I started but having read it twice now, I love love LOVE it. And I probably should give IT by Stephen King a shoutout because I was on the Oh-God-King-Writes-Horror-Oh-Yuck bandwagon and I seriously LOVED the story and the story-telling of this interesting and crazy novel.

Hidden Gem Book: Gosh, NOTHING is coming to mind. Hidden Gem… Hmmmmmm. I am reaching here back to my High School days… I read Les Miserables and don’t have any memory of why I chose that book – other than it being foreign, classic and long. I wanted to show off – ha! And I adored it.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:  My fifth grade teacher read us The Hobbit. It was a BIG book; it was not considered a CHILDREN’s book. It was an “AHA” moment when I realized I was ready to move out of the little kids’ section of the library and so I fell head first into Agatha Christie. Funny, I never got to anything else by Tolkein but I did find The Chronicles of Narnia (yes, maybe ‘kids’ books – it wasn’t that I didn’t still read my age level) and counted them as faves for many many years.

Just Finished:  Uh, I’m in a non-reading phase at the moment. The last book I ‘read’ was actually the audio of Undress Me in the Temple of Heaven.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:  Suddenly, I keep finding the term Urban Fantasy popping up everywhere for me and since i have zero clue what genre this is, I will put it here. (Likely, somebody will challenge me to read and I will.)

Longest Book You’ve Read:  The Stand?  It?  Les Miz??  I have no idea.

Major book hangover because of: I don’t understand this. What is a book hangover?

Number of Bookcases You Own:  Two.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times: The Book Thief – twice. Don’t think I have ever read any book three times.

Preferred Place To Read: Anywhere when the book is good. Probably could say my boat since I don’t have to get too specific with WHERE on the boat, right?

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:   

“Once upon a time there was a boy who loved a girl, and her laughter was a question he wanted to spend his whole life answering.” 

This is from The History of Love by Nicole Krauss. Happy sigh.

“A writer needs four things to achieve greatness, Pasquale: desire, disappointment, and the sea.”
“That’s only three.”
Alvis finished his wine. “You have to do disappointment twice.” 

And this is from a lovely book that I thoroughly enjoyed THIS year, Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter.

Reading Regret:  Huh? Twilight? nah, I don’t mind having said I’ve read that. I have no reading regrets that come to mind.

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series):  Hunger Games, Harry Potter, Dragon Tattoo, Twilight, Pullman’s Dust series, the really oh-so-pretty colorful ones about the girl chemist who solves mysteries. Obviously, I don’t read series! It would be a lot easier to list series I have actually completed:  Lord of the Rings.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books: The Book Thief, The History of Love, Mountains Beyond Mountains

Unapologetic Fangirl For: Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:  No idea. I don’t keep up with what’s coming because I’m overwhelmed with wanting to read the ‘already here’ list.

Worst Bookish Habit: Or best, depending on if you’re trying to get my attention and I think you are annoying: My ability to zone out EVERYTHING and focus on my book.

X Marks The Spot:  Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book: Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquirel and I have had this on my tbr for what seems like forever. The first blurb on the back says “A tall tale, fairy tale, sopa-opera romance, Mexican cookbook, and home-remedy handbook all rolled into one.” and makes me curious about whether or not I can count this for #Diversiverse. IS it FANTASY enough? If you are unfamiliar with the #Diversiverse Initiative, please please PLEASE visit my friend Aarti at BookLust and see her wonderful explanation. Find a book and read it. Participate!!

I also want to read this because it is on the 1001 Books to Read Before I Die list.

Your latest book purchase: The Great Santini by Pat Conroy – not too fond, to be honest. Macho military guy who beats on his kids. Yuck. I was a third of the way in when I just couldn’t be inspired to pick it up again. I know, I know, I am sure I’m missing “the something” and sure, the writing is good but I really don’t have the stomach to see how the kids prevail and the guy gets his  come-uppance or a change of heart.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):  I really liked Where’d You Go Bernadette? Though, I am not one to read at night because I can’t stay awake and then have to re-read pages that never made it out of my sleep-brain to be remembered.


Ready to play along?

.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
26 thoughts on “A to Z: It’s All Me & My Books

    1. Yes, beer is a popular choice. And it’s hard to say if I had never heard or just needed a reminder but I certainly could NOT name any of his books nor if you had given me the titles to guess the author, I would have drawn a blank. This whole thing started when I was admitting my inner book snob about not reading books where the author’s name is larger than the title on a book cover! Also, my friend who was aghast and wants me to try Conroy is from … wait…. South Carolina! huh.

  1. thank you, Care! Because you did this, I found the meme, and just did it too! It was a lot of fun. I am surprised that you only have two bookshelves. Is that a conscious choice? Can you tell I’m panicking at the idea of having two shelves to pack all my books onto! lol!!

    1. I don’t keep books I’ve read, so all my shelves are tbr or reference. I didn’t count my cookbook shelf but that is hiding behind a cabinet door in the kitchen.

  2. Interesting set of questions. I’ve read a lot of King. Probably more than Murakami as King has many more books out. But there might be a tie between King and Dean Koontz. I fell in love with Koontz after reading all that King had out one summer. I loved that Koontz always seemed to have a dog in his books and they had the same, dark feel that King’s books did. I found them to be very much alike but at some point the writing changed and they were different.

  3. Narnia and The Book Thief, I love them! Also, the quotes you picked are fantastic. I think a book hangover is when you finish a book and it was so good you can’t pick up another book yet.

  4. I love seeing these memes! And, I’m with you on The Book Thief. I was sort of on the fence on that one because it was before I really started reading more YA (not that I read much) and wow, I was just blown away. Such an amazing book.

  5. I listened to a Pat Conroy book when I first started listening to audio and at 2:45 am I can’t remember the title. It was good but also had some yuck to it as well. And yes–I meant to put IT down for giving a book a chance. Though I’m not done with the King romance yet…just need to take a little break.

  6. Fun! I might have to steal this from you and Trish. I read Like Water for Chocolate forever ago and loved it. It may have been my first book of magical realism. If you want to try my quiz for the week knowing this title will help you 🙂

  7. Hah, I did this survey too and was also like, dated in high school?

    I still haven’t read Mountains Beyond Mountains but should really get around to reading it someday.

    I don’t read much of urban fantasy – and its boundaries seem a bit undefined – I’ve heard books described as urban fantasy that are not actually in a city. I think of it as a catch-all for most fantasy that are set in contemporary times, in something recognizable as our world, but with supernatural elements to it, like werewolves, vampires, etc. But that is just my perception. Anyway, the only “urban fantasy” I’ve really enjoyed is Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series despite their terrible, terrible covers.

  8. I totally envy your ability to totally zone out and focus on a book. I have such a hard time shutting my brain off–especially with audiobooks these days. I’ve been listening to Stiff on my morning walks and sometimes in the car but I couldn’t tell you one iota of what is going on. Sad!!

    So does this mean you’re not going to read Doctor Sleep? I can’t say I have much interest…it’s more fun when we’re doing it all in a group. I miss our group reads!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

