Under the Dome #DomeAlong

The idea of writing a “howdy” post to inspire me right into review-writing has not been as successful as I had hoped. I fear that review-writing is one of those things that once on the treadmill thereof, reviews come easy. Cold starts into review-writing, not so come easy.

But I DO want to post so here’s what I got for today:

the_Dome

I have had my arm twisted to join with one of the most fun readalong-gangs on Twitter to read Stephen King’s Under the Dome.

____——-____—–>  Read about it HERE. <—–____—–____

I was tempted by 1) the TV show series of Under the Dome starting next month, and 2) the last time I mowed the lawn, I had audio-echos of The Stand and that clown book which title is escaping me – that’s scary, huh? – invading my brain. That’s scary, too. The memory loss and the audio-echos, yes? YES.

Truly, I mowed the lawn last year to Uncle Stevie books. And I miss it. Or… I really don’t want to explore what exactly this means, but that I am unable to resist the call to listen to more over-30-hour-horror-books by the master.

In other news, I am enjoying The Burgess Boys which I will be able to give to my Auntie who lives in Maine when I see her soon in Florida. Love that my family is from ALL OVER THIS CRAZY NATION. I get to see my mother, too. Which will be very nice. (hi MOM!) I will be reading The Mermaid of Brooklyn on my iPad Kindle app for club next week. (A friend says I won’t like it which is oddly encouraging me to give it a fair shake and I am now truly looking forward to this.) I think I will slug along my copy of Kitchen Confidential and get it done, too.

Thanks NATALIE for hosting the #DomeAlong!  Sorry I’ve been so grumpily enthusiastic!!!!!!!!!!!

Back to why review-writing is tough after a break…  Because you’ve (I’ve) had time letting it marinate and thinking I could do this awesome post with quotes and back-story, vocabulary, etc and then some and when I sit down to let fingers dance on keyboard, I hyperventilate about time and the other tasks I *should* be doing like cleaning bathrooms or organizing my closet. Shame on me for letting house duties interfere with blogging fun.

Kick me if you don’t see a review soon for one of these:  Called to Coach, Tropic of Cancer, Life After Life.

No go sign up for the Under the Dome readalong. Go!

Needs must.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
17 thoughts on “Under the Dome #DomeAlong

  1. I think this is just what the doctor ordered…for the old along gang to get together and read/listen to some Uncle Stevie. I haven’t been this excited about blogging in a long time… So glad you’re joining. Even if reluctantly.

    And IT…

    1. I know! HOW could I forget ‘IT’? too funny. And by-the-way, I was touched and excited about the name idea you have for next-baby-sweetums. I *wish* Caroline was my name, but that’s another story. (Not really.)

  2. Bathrooms clean themselves, and closets clean themselves out if you wait long enough. At least that’s my attitude when I sit down to write!

  3. I loved Under The Dome. I have too many books that I am committed to at the moment to participate in the readalong but I can participate in discussions.

    I agree with Jeanne, housework gets done by itself when you’re not looking. I think it’s little fairies or sprites.

    1. Lovely! I am impressed with how many people I respect have liked UtD so I am sure I will enjoy it.

      I think I need just a few more fairies and sprites. They have not been attending to the dusting – which one would think might be their specialty (over vacuuming.)

      1. The fairies/sprites seem to be very good at washing the floors … Though now that I think about it that could just be our dog, Midnight. The floor seems to be especially clean around the garbage can, kitchen table and living room seating. Hmmm … ; )

  4. Oh, my friend, I have been absolutely horrible at reviewing and reviewing this year! It is because of Stephen King that I am motivated to get back into the swing of it all. And within just a few pages, I’m hooked and enjoying things again! Last year, for IT I listened to it while running, which was the reason why I had one of my longest runs ever one creepy night. I was considering doing a combo listen/read for Under the Dome but if the audio is super, I might stick with that. Who knows? I do know that while I might not be reading anything else right now, I’ll have one heck of a time with all of you reading at least one book and tweeting/posting about it! 🙂

    1. Yes, true! I just completed a job that took more time from my reading/pie-baking/down-time activities so I’m hoping I will be back to blogging soon. Although, as I keep throwing things into June, I realize June is very close around the corner. Let’s just relax and have fun with it, right?

  5. litandlife

    I wish one of the peoples who have actually read and loved UtD would give us a fabulous idea for an accessory we all must have. I would so get them for every one! I do have an idea for a bookmark I’ll send everyone (think Henry Doorly Zoo!).

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

