The Great Gatsby – Print & Audio

Thoughts tggatsbybyfsg The Great Gatsby by F.Scott Fitzgerald, Scribner 2004 (orig 1925), 180 pages, Audible 15.75 hours

WHY I read/listened to this: I am most excited to see Leo DiCaprio bring Gatsby to the big screen (latest schedule says MAY) and wanted to refresh the story in my mind before I see it. I both listened and read this; downloading the Tim Robbins’ narration per Softdrink’s recommendation and going to the library for the one with the gorgeous cover.

FIRST SENTENCE: In my younger and more vulnerable years my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since.

So good.

I really enjoyed listening to Tim Robbins’ voice. Slow and sultry and hot. Like some of the scenes, actually. I never once sped up the narration. It was almost dreamy.

And then…  I watched the 1974 film starring Robert Redford and Mia Farrow. tggfilm LOVED!  Although, I did think some of the camera closeups at scenery change were cheesy with overdramatic drama. With the story so fresh in my mind, I appreciated how very true the movie was to the book; dialogue and voice overs, especially. Sam Waterston as Nick Carraway was spot-on and I admit that I am fearing that Tobey Maguire won’t do the role justice. But I am willing to be surprised and impressed. I have no doubts that DiCaprio will nail it. tggfilm13 And have been won over by the idea of Carey Mulligan as Daisy. (I am watching the BBC Bleak House miniseries now – she plays Ada and is such a fabulous actress, imo).

Honestly, I thought I had read this in High School but now I’m questioning that. I really wish I had a list of all the books I really read in High School but alas, I do not. I did a better job of tracking movies I saw but have little in the way of what books I read and I read ALL THE TIME back then.

Please click over to Roof Beam Reader for a FABULOUS critical analysis of F.Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby.

Highly recommended:  Five slices of Mint Julep Pie with Caramel-Bourbon Sauce – sounds decadent, yes?

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
24 thoughts on “The Great Gatsby – Print & Audio

  1. Tim Robbins! Hmm, I wasn’t going to reread this until after the movie, but I might have to be going to the library between now and then just to check the audiobooks for him reading The Great Gatsby!

  2. I know I read this in high school but I don’t remember any of it (like most of the other books I read in high school). This one is sitting on my nightstand. I just finished a book, so maybe I’ll start it tonight. Glad you enjoyed it.

    1. I disliked Leo so much after Titanic but am coming around to his talent once again.
      I don’t want to add any pressure, but I hope you like Cloud Atlas.

  3. I posted about the Gatsby movie when it was supposed to come out on Christmas Day. And now it says May. I hope it actually does come out in May because it looks really good. I too, reread the book recently and enjoyed it much more than when I read it some years back.

  4. I’m thinking of rereading this because I read it in high school and I’m SURE I didn’t really get it. I’m excited about the movie too … though I hate that Tobey Maguire is in it. He is such a bad actor in my opinion.

  5. Mmmmm mint. I might see if Scott is interested in this one. After he saw the preview he expressed interest in the book and he hasn’t been listening to anything since finishing 11/22/63 (for some reason I can’t talk him into The Stand). For now I’ll just continue to think of minnnnnnnnnnnnnnnt. mmmmmmm.

  6. I really need to give The Great Gatsby another go. I’ve tried getting into it a couple times. No luck. Same with the movie. I found it terribly slow, although it might have just been that it was late and I was too tired for an older movie.

    1. Sure, it is not a fast action-packed story but it packs a whallop – how do you spell that wollap? no… Yep, it IS WALLOP. Maybe you should listen to this one or wait until you are ready for a slow pace.

  7. I am expecting Tobey Maguire to be rubbish but on the other hand, Carey Mulligan is beautiful and awesome. So I have a net looking-forward-to-it feeling about the upcoming film. I truly truly love this book.

  8. Yes! This was an excellent, excellent audio! (Although I also don’t know for sure who the narrator was, but it was within the last couple of years that I listened, so I’m guessing it was the same as yours.)

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

