Four More Years

Congratulations to Mr. Obama for winning the re-election campaign. Please do try to get all parties at all levels of government to play nice together and move forward fixing rather than exasperating problems.

Can we please try to not think horribly extreme thoughts about ‘the other side’ and be compassionate, responsible, and diligent in protecting our rights as human beings everywhere? May opportunities arise that make all of our lives better and brighter tomorrow and in the future. Thank you.

To move this back to books, I point you to this list from The Daily Beast about reading choices of the two candidates. I’ll highlight a few that struck me interesting (because I own – BLUE, want to read – GREEN or have done read – RED):

1. Favorite Books

Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison (Obama) vs. East of Eden by John Steinbeck (Romney)

Moby Dick by Herman Melville (Obama) vs. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain (Romney)

Shakespeare’s Tragedies (Obama) vs. Adventures of the Thunderbolt Kid by Bill Bryson (Romney)

Parting the Waters by Taylor Branch (Obama) vs. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (Romney)

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (Obama) vs. Battlefield Earth by L. Ron Hubbard (Romney)

(see link above for other categories…)

4. Economics

Common Wealth by Jeffrey Sachs (Obama) vs. Guns, Germs and Steel by Jared Diamond (Romney)

Unequal Democracy by Larry Bartels (Obama) vs. The Wealth and Poverty of Nations by David Landes (Romney)

5. Self-Help

Self-Reliance by Ralph Waldo Emerson (Obama) vs. The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren (Romney)

6. Fiction

Room by Emma Donoghue (Obama) vs. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (Romney)

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley (Obama) vs. Term Limits by Vince Flynn (Romney)

The Bayou Trilogy by Daniel Woodrell (Obama) vs. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini (Romney)

I was unsuccessful in my 3-second search to find out what they might be reading RIGHT NOW. I can tell you what I am reading and listening to:  Bleak House by Charles Dickens, This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz and the Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling. What are YOU reading? Any thoughts about the lists above? I like that Obama is an avid reader of many genres. Not quite sure what I think of some of Romney’s choices.

I wHIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
15 thoughts on “Four More Years

  1. I wish that we can work together as well. As well as working towards making a better America. Unfortunately in the past day I’ve had to block a few people on Facebook and Twitter because of the negativity (both sides)–I’m tired of negativity and feel like our problems will be solved with compromise rather than blame.

    Anyway. Bleak House. I’m just starting Chapter 10 but really do want to start reading it from the beginning as I can’t really tell you completely what’s going on. Eeeep!! I have a head cold though (thanks chickpea banana) so don’t really feel like doing much of anything!

    1. I’m only to Chap 8 and I, too, want to at least skim over the print to see what I missed. Like I totally wasn’t paying attention to how Esther hooked up with Richard and Ada. And am so confused if they want her to be the housekeeper?! She’s awfully good to be believed but I feel I must.

    1. I find such fascinating. I really wonder what book they are reading right now – or when/what the last book they read. I do know they are very busy.

  2. Listening to audiobook Feed by Mira Grant about bloggers and politicians during a presidential election season in 2040 with zombies. Much more enjoyable than listening to all the stuff related to the real-life elections!

  3. It is so funny to me that I am an Obama supporter AND I have read most of the books on the Obama side, more than ones listed on the Romney side. I wonder why that is. Very interesting, indeed. Maybe I should balance it out a little?

  4. You know, if you gave me solely the reading choices and had me pick a candidate, I’d be more undecided. However, the L. Ron Hubbard book caused Romney to lose more than a few points that I was grudgingly giving him.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

