Hashtag #Italong Mid-Point

Thoughts

Was quite shocked that we meet Georgie and he meets Pennywise the Clown SO EARLY in the book! Talk about WHAM BAM – let’s get right into this, shall we?

I adore young Ben Hanscom. oh! such a sweet kid. LOVED his back story and how cool he is that he doesn’t even realize he is lonely until he meets his first friends. OH!

When we meet Bev as an adult – don’t you get the impression she is going to make the most change in character and finally become the bad ass she has to be? LOVE her and hope she has the strength to pull them all together. [I wrote this post back in August and finished the book last night. OMG! What she does to “pull them all together”!!]

King is absolutely amazing with his back story. And his parents – most of them are fabulous! Mike’s dad – wise and understanding and Richie Tozier’s dad – such encouragement and wit. Awesome.

Kansas Street. I’m from Kansas. Love to see it represented. I wish I had kept a count.

Having not yet looked but wasn’t the Nebraska town Ben was living in the town or near the town that Abigail from The Stand was from? [yes]

They really do say ‘ayup’ in Maine. Just saying. Of course, you wouldn’t even doubt that, would you? It’s just odd to me that it was THIS YEAR that I really noticed it and identified it as a Maine thing. Anyone want a bumper sticker that says AYUP, let me know. I am sure I can arrange it.

I am enjoying this more than The Stand. Maybe this thought is my MID-POINT-of-IT thought and I can’t quite compare to my MID-POINT-the-STAND thoughts since my love/enjoyment of The Stand cooled after so much of that one. Can’t say if I will love IT as much when I finally complete it but right now, I would give it a 5 star just because I am enjoying this very much.

King can tell a story and pull at your heart strings in character development.

;
HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
11 thoughts on “Hashtag #Italong Mid-Point

  1. Ruthiella

    It has been a very long time since I read “It”, but I do remember loving the detail of the story. It is really a time capsule about childhood friendship and growing up in the 50’s as well as a horror story. Glad you are enjoying the book!

  2. King certainly is amazing at character development. I’m only about 200 pages in, and Bev’s backstory is heartbreaking. The scene after she gets the telephone call from Mike made me queasy.

    Glad you enjoyed it. Now that I know your final rating. I’m excited to see what is ahead.

  3. Great thoughts, and I felt the exact same way about Ben! LOVE him.

    I did notice that about the Abagail and Ben being from the same location, I forgot to include that! I love how characters and towns reappear in other books! For example, Dick Halloran from the Mike Hanlon section is a feature player in The Shining! He’s the cook from the Overlook Hotel. Love it!

  4. I’m loving this more than The Stand, too. I think part of it is the narrator but part of it is the fun of being so terrified (I know, I’m confused surely). Love Ben but also love Bill. But it’s painful to listen to that stuttering, huh?

    In the section I listened to this morning (Interlude 3), there were several Ayups. Thought of you. 😉

    1. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get the actor who plays adult Bill out of my head. The narrator is AWESOME! I prefer his reading of Bill’s stutter than my reading it in my head.

  5. My mother’s family is from (very Northern) Maine and I grew up surrounded by the Maine-st accents you ever did hear. Part of why I love listening to King novels, especially when they’re narrated by folks who do good Maine accents. I might have to take you up on your bumper sticker offer…although I believe it’s more of a “ayuh.” 😉

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

