Diversity in Fantasy

I’m joining this challenge:   <— Just click on the button to learn all about it and choose a book from the lists available.

Hosted by Aarti at Book Lust, this celebration of diversity in fantasy AND the diverse authors that write in the fantasy genre is designed to encourage us to get involved beyond our typical norms of reading choices.

I will be buying and reading  Kindred by Octavia E. Butler. This is already on my tbr having read some terrific reviews but mainly because I am wanting to read time travel stories this year. Click on the book cover image to go to goodreads.com.

I hope to read another book, too. I just haven’t decided what title yet. Please feel free to offer any suggestions.

AND, I leave you with a suggestion:   Green Grass Running Water by Thomas King. It’s fabulous!  Click on the book cover to go to goodreads.com or click on the prior underlined “It’s fabulous!” sentence to read my review from 2009.

See you in September.

“What we achieve inwardly will change outer reality.”

― Plutarch

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
21 thoughts on “Diversity in Fantasy

  1. I really want to join, but as I mentioned over at Aarti’s blog I can’t find any titles at the library. Anyway, I will keep looking as I’d hope there has to be something I can read available somewhere.

    I’m very curious what you’ll think of Kindred. I’m desperate to read my first Octavia Butler.

  2. Ruthiella

    I really liked Kindred. It is a book that make you think. I recently read Fledgling by Butler, which isn’t as well written, but it does have some very thought provoking ideas.
    You could also read “Redemption in Indigo” to fit this category. I know it is on your TBR and you can have my copy if you like. Let me know and I will send it to you.

    1. Thanks Ruthiella! YES, I will let you send me a book. 😀 And I would love to return the favor. I’ll think up some suggestions of titles I own you might like.

  3. I love the title of her challenge, “diversity in fantasy”. I am going to go look at her suggestions and see if any are readily available for me here. I have heard alot about Kindred, and I hope you enjoy it.

  4. I really want to read this one but have no idea where to start. Fantasy isn’t really a genre I naturally gravitate towards but this shoulds like such a great event. Will look into your suggestions.

  5. This event sounds great, but there are so many events going on right now, I don’t think I could manage. I hope you enjoy Kindred. I’m hoping to read it some time soon, but probably not before this month’s event is through.

  6. I’ve always meant to read Kindred too. I signed on to read The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin. Just about halfway into it. Hasn’t completely grabbed me yet…

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

