The Stand

Thoughts  The Stand by Stephen King, Audio CD, February 14th 2012 by Random House Audio Publishing Group, 48 hours

For the #standalong readalong hosted by Trish at Love Laughter & Insanity

Please visit her final post –> here <– to read everyone’s posts on their participation. [DO read! very funny and/or wise.] Rather than write a typical or not “review” of The Stand, I am going to utilize my ramble-on style to post thoughts.

First, I do not like the cover that is shown in the readalong button. I don’t  know why, but I prefer the darker one with the roads littered with abandoned cars.

Second, I’m so glad that the audio worked for me! It was a trifecta of timing, technology and tasks to do that were good to have something to listen to.* I had been trying to get myself infected (yep, INFECTED!  fits, doncha think?) with the passion that is audiobooking. And this was perfect.

I mowed the lawn, I cleaned the house, I listened every driving second in the car. I would put the garage door down, hit play on my iPhone (no earbuds) and start my vehicle. THAT is how I got through 48 hours of The Stand in two weeks.

Like Ms. Trish, I don’t like to know anything when I begin a book. I would not have been able to tell you that The Stand was about infectious disease and the wiping out of 99% of the population (SPOILER!) until I had already dowloaded the book to my phone.

I really enjoyed it. I really fell for Stu and Larry. Sure, I actually saw and heard Gary Sinese (even if it was Grover’s voice that did the part). I luckily avoided seeing Molly Ringwald when I heard the voice of the pregnant redhead from Maine. (I’ve already forgotten her name?!  oh yea, Frannie)

I loved loved loved the pie references!  Thank you, Jill, for writing them down and identifying the page numbers for me.

“It’s a pie, she told herself. Responsibility is a pie. Some of the responsibility goes with all the charity work she does, but you’re only kidding if you think you’re not going to have to cut a big, juicy, bitter piece for yourself. And eat every bite.” ch 20, pg 202

I got much delight from the Twittering. And it continues! Apparently, this same nutty group will attempt IT, also by Stephen King? Another long book but not as long as The Stand? I know nothing about IT but assume it actually might be ‘scarier’ in the King way, but again. What do I know. (not a question.) I never did catch a cold while reading this.

I am one of those that thought the book was too long. (SPOILER AHEAD!) I was ready for it to be over after Stu came back to see the baby.

I think King is a masterful storyteller.

OK. Now I have to decide if I want to read IT. (I don’t. I want to participate in the readalong but I don’t want to read the book.)

On other notes, I have finished Book 3 of the Harry Potter series. I will take a break from that and read Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander and then Gone Girl for Marina Book Club and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn for my Middleboro Book Club. I never did start Emotional Geology nor The Gargoyle. I have a review of The Happiness Project to write. I think I will do minis of the Harry Potter books but wait to post for when I complete the series. I have to check my reading challenges to see what I am at on those… And that’s about it.

OH! I am meeting my book blog bud BeastMomma for lunch today and meeting her little girl. We will have pie.

For more King reviews, stop by here:  

* A poem?   It was a trifecta of timing, technology and tasks to do
  mmmmmm   that was good to have something to listen to.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
30 thoughts on “The Stand

  1. This is actually the only book I have read by Stephen King. The plot was interesting, but it took so long to develop and really dragged on at times. You’re right about it being a REALLY long book, which doesn’t automatically make it bad, but this one dragged. It didn’t really inspire me to read more of King.

  2. Michelle and I are opposite ends of the King spectrum 🙂 I love Stephen King’s writing, but couldn’t do this one. I’ve read several others of his huge books and loved them, but couldn’t get going on this one.

    Glad you enjoyed and that Trish’s readalong was such a success.

  3. I’m with you, I like the empty road cover much more. After hearing so many people say they felt it was too long, I’m so glad I read the original. It felt like it was just right and it was still more than 800 pages.

    p.s. I don’t know that I’m joining in on the IT readalong either. I think that one might be a bit too scary for me (insane clowns are terrifying), but part of me wants to do the readalong! Oh well, maybe I’ll join in the next one. We could do The Green Mile or something.

  4. Whew!!! I admit I breathe a sigh of relief every time I see that someone didn’t despise this book. Why I care, I do not know. This book somehow feels more personal to me than any other book. Yeah, whatever. I’m at a loss to explain.

  5. I loved this book, loved it! And thank goodness you didn’t see Molly Ringwald as Frannie as you listened to the audio! I happened to hate Frannie and thought she was a total annoyance, so when I watched the TV movie last week, it made perfect sense that they would pick Molly Ringwald for the role. I can’t wait to see what Ben Affleck puts together!

  6. Well my dear, if my copy looked like the one with the road it’s what I would have taken a picture of for the button. 😉 But mine (actually both my copies) have the battle of the strange little figures.

    I was glad to have another listening buddy. i really enjoyed the audio–the female voices didn’t bother me quite as badly as the tittering of RF near the end–when he was in hysterics. I literally could feel my skin crawling.

    I have agreed it IT. I won’t be hosting as Ms. Fizzy Jill tried to suggest but I’m going to do my best. I’ll probably have to listen again as my reading has basically zero these days. #italong!!!!!

    1. Yes, it’s a battle of strange little figures! Very apoc-something that I can’t spell.

      I’ll do IT. Why not? Can’t let you all go at it IT alone.

  7. LOL – I can totally relate to wanting to participate in a readalong, but not wanting to read the book! Glad the Standalong was such a success… and that you’ve caught the audiobook bug. Have you read 11/22/63? I’ve heard that’s excellent on audio, too.

    1. I’m rather ambivalent to clowns at the moment. I once had a roommate who was terrified of clowns – I wonder if it was because of this book?

  8. I loved the Stand, but it’s been years and years since I’ve read it. It is long. “IT” happens to be my other favorite King book (well, actually, I have a few favorites) and I love it (IT) all the way to the end… but not the actual end. But everything else, I love love love. so creepy. I hope you read it (IT). And you have a ton of other great books listed in this post! I’m waiting for Gone Girl from the library… such a long wait…

  9. I loved The Stand–I’m so glad I joined y’all in the Standalong!

    I don’t know if I have it in me for It. That seems like the kind of scary I don’t need stuck in my head! There are a couple big storm drains at the end of my street that I’d like to be able to continue to walk past, and that’s all I’m gonna say about that! 😉

    Also, it doesn’t sound like you are lacking for book ideas, but I’m reading The Hot Zone by Richard Preston now, and it makes for a pretty captivating follow-up to The Stand. If you found the Captain Trips parts of The Stand too horrifying, then you should probably pass, but if you found them horrifying/fascinating, then this might be a good one to add to your list.

    1. I have already read the storm drain part! IT starts off big; I didn’t expect to meet the clown so soon.

      I really like the characterization and the society building aspect of The Stand. Thanks for the rec, I think I will put all infectious disease books aside for awhile.

      Why am I up to IT? maybe I need to know that scary-fantasy is more fun than worrying about scary-REAL, if that makes sense.

  10. I loved The Stand more when I first read it. When I read it last year for a read along, I didn’t love it as much. I think it’s because I am older and more jaded. LOL.

    I LOVED IT and would love to read it again but not sure if I want to do the read along. I tend to slack off when I do read alongs.

  11. Pingback: The Stephen King Project « Care's Online Book Club

  12. Pingback: A Verse in Rhyme No Meter (Attempt) – Kickoff to #MiseryRAL | Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

