Fifty Shades of Grey

Thoughts  Fifty Shades of Grey by ELJames, Vintage Books 2012 (orig 2011), 514 pages

Loaned to me from a boat friend who usually has opposite opinions on books. When a friend asked me what it’s about I emailed her this. Thought it would make a sufficient blog post.

I blame Connecticut & Rhode Island for the peer pressure.

*SPOILERS*   (really?)
Ana doesn’t realize how pretty she is.
She trips and falls into the office of CEO to interview him and thinks he is arrogant.
Mr. Grey somehow is enchanted. Mr. Christian Grey is young and gorgeous and super rich and is a control freak and apparently is becoming a poster child for how a cruel upbringing can ruin you.
Ana is a virgin, newly graduated from college, doesn’t care about her appearance and only likes classic British literature. At the beginning, she doesn’t drink alcohol and is apparently clumsy.
Mr. Grey sends her a mint condition first edition of Tess of the D’Urbervilles. She won’t accept it.
They meet again.
He warns her away.
Later, she drunk dials and he rescues her from a bar.
After getting sick and hung over, she realizes margaritas and wine and champagne and cosmos are awesome!
She loses her virginity to Mr. Grey.
He asks her to sign a contract to be his submissive and shows her the ‘play room’.
The rest of the book is her thinking about what that means while they also act out some of what that means: spanking and kinky sex, etc.
I expect the remaining two books are about how they fall in love and live happily ever after.

I was surprised it wasn’t as bad as I feared but I did get irritated with him telling her she is a ‘good girl’ and her inane shock & surprise and all the inner dialogue between herself, her subconscious and her inner goddess. It was a lot easier to read this while enjoying a glass of white wine.

I actually enjoyed the email exchanges.

I looked up the following words:
Concupiscent, in situ, taciturn (in the book a bunch of times), enigmatic, mercurial (this was in the book abt 5 times), syllabub, priapic, bespoke, profligate, becloud, oneiric, abjure, syncretic. I wonder how many other people looked any of these up as well.

Three stars; I will probably never get to the other two books in the series. (I never do; don’t see why this would break that trend.)

I recommend you first read Tess by Thomas Hardy.

And, may I suggest instead/also you read Sugar in My Bowl, collection edited by Erica Jong?  😉


HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
28 thoughts on “Fifty Shades of Grey

  1. I can’t bring myself to read this series. I get twitchy just thinking about picking it up. I can’t stand horrible writing. I am okay with the subject matter but my literary brain would freak I think.

    1. Yea, I wouldn’t worry about it. I was just tired of people asking me if I’d read it. Now I can say yes and change the subject. I will post my thoughts on Wild tomorrow. DON’T MISS IT!

      How’s your arm?

  2. I thought of putting Sugar in My Bowl on a list for “While You Wait for 50 Shades of Grey” at the library, so glad to see you suggest it as a good one. I actually bought Sugar in My Bowl as a bargain Nookbook (haven’t read it, though) but haven’t brought myself even to place a hold on 50 Shades through the library yet. My reason for reading it eventually will be the same as yours (same reason I read The Da Vinci Code)…to answer yes instead of no, since so many people at the library ask whether I’ve read it. I thought I could wait it out, but it’s only gaining steam, as your map shows, I guess!

    1. Sugar in My Bowl is great! I, too, saw it as an ebook special and I think most of my bookclub also downloaded it. It has an interesting variety, thoroughly enjoyable.

  3. I’ll take up your recommendation and read Tess (instead). 🙂 I cannot seem to bring myself to even sample this book – not that I think it bad but I just feel creeped out by the idea of reading it, for some reason, lol!

    1. I respect your choice to read Tess. Be forewarned, it may get your blood boiling for what the poor girl goes through. And if you ever do read Fifty Shades, you’ll understand all the Tess references – even if the two girls experiences do NOT relate.

      1. But, I suppose that is the point. If one were to write an updated Tess, the heroine MUST have the choices a girl wouldn’t have had at the time Tess took place. Hmmmm…

        1. I wasn’t keen on Tess actually initially, but I’ve been hearing it a lot lately – mostly, there’s this Indian movie coming out that calls itself a modern adaptation of Tess. The movie trailer looked well-done, but whatever I gathered of the plot made me raise my eyebrows. So not sure how it will go, but at least I’ve stopped skipping that book’s name whenever I come across it.

    1. Thanks Jessica! That IS a GREAT discussion and explains a bit about how it was Twilight Fan Fiction which I had questions about.

      Did you see the SNL skit? too funny.

  4. litandlife

    Of course I had to check out Nebraska on that map – pretty embarrassed that even tho’ not so many people read this, those that did really seemed to like it. Hmm, I wonder how many of my neighbors have play rooms?

  5. The whole story just sounds so ridiculous. I’d definitely need some adult beverages to get through it. The demographics are pretty interesting though — I used to live in Nebraska, so I’m amused that it’s well-received there.

  6. Good review – and thanks for being honest. There are so many people rushing to hate it without reading – driving me a little nuts. I agree with you – it’s not awful, but it’s certainly not great writing. In my younger days I read a lot of those books with bare-chested men and bodice-ripped women on the covers – very similar. I also enjoyed the email exchanges – and I gotta admit I was fascinated with the whole moth/flame romance – the way she walked on egg shells to avoid making him angry, but eventually grew to stand up to him.

    Anyway, just silly erotic fun – you’re absolutely right.

  7. Autumn

    I am horrified at the comments that are being posted about the novel. It’s obvious that this book will only attract a certain crowd, whether or not you are in that crowd doesn’t concern me, but to already have a dense dislike on the book is just ignorant. I for one really enjoy the book…I think it has it’s own allure that of which is not found in many other books. It’s erotic, it’s exciting, unpredictable…the book is remarkable, regardless of your distaste towards it. I can say that I have become thoroughly addicted with the books and have a curiosity that won’t be satiated until I finish Fifty Shades. Happy Reading to those who are ready to read an intense romance. This is definitely a page turner.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

