The Fault In Our Stars

Thoughts  The Fault In Our Stars by John Green, DUTTON BOOKS An Imprint of Penguin Group 2012, 313 pages

Why I read this:  For The Bookies Book Club.

Fact: This is the 4th book I’ve read by John Green. This places him in a small group. Only a few authors can claim that I’ve read more than 3 of their books.  (yea, like any are keeping track.)

I enjoyed this book very much, finding all that I love about John Green’s books to be included;  the words I don’t know and then are defined within the conversation so I don’t have to look it up, travels, the loving well-meaning and usually respected parents, the reckless rule-breaking but not quite tragic and always smart teenagers, and yes – I take it back – the tragic. But always ends with a good cry and tons of hope that life really doesn’t have to suck even it if does.  I don’t quite know how he does it.

I don’t have my “THOUGHTS” post-writing skills yet dusted off so I won’t tell you what this book is about. It often gets debated that it is about cancer and that appalls some and thus they want to avoid it but cancer is everywhere and what we need to know how to do is – uh oh, I’m preaching?! – is to learn how to relate to people through the good and the bad. I loved how this book does that. With humor, with love and with respect.

I also resent the implications of some of the goodreads reviews that seem to question Green’s authority to write a book about kids with cancer and think it is totally unequivocally absurd.

Here are more reviews or you can click on the book cover above and read the goodreads.com stuff.

Nymeth says, the author ‘hoped this would be a novel that would make readers feel ALL THE THINGS, and I think it succeeds very impressively on that regard.’ Her review is actually quite brilliant and I always learn so much from her. Truly, I want to quote from every one of her paragraphs.

Softdrink had a few problems with the book and her points are valid. She also references another review so you may want to follow that trail.

and Ti’s review where she simply says, “An amazing, life affirming read.”.

.

I think my favorite of the JG novels will forever be Looking for Alaska; I still had to rate this 5 slices of pie. I rounded up since I don’t give half slices…

“FOREVER WITHIN NUMBERED DAYS.”

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
39 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars

  1. I have a new appreciation for this novel after recently getting out of the prematorium again. I also really liked it that the characters are readers, of course.

        1. Like all good invented words, it means more than one thing. One thing it means is that the hospital is where you go to get treatment for a fatal disease before you go to the crematorium.

  2. I didn’t have a good reaction to Looking for Alaska, which I snapped up right after Fault. I think the review posts this week, but I seriously can’t remember.

    As you know, I loved Fault. I wouldn’t say that it is a book about cancer. More about living if anything. I don’t know why people would slam Green for writing about cancer anyway. He states in the book that a lot of stuff is made-up. Hench, its fiction classification! LOL.

    1. Yep, I almost added a line about “don’t you know it is FICTION?” but whatever.

      I think Alaska is my fave because it was my first. Now that I know the Green style, I know what to expect, perhaps.

  3. Alaska was my first as well, so it has a special place in my heart. But I will say I adored this one and I think Green is constantly maturing as a writer. I’m glad you liked it too!

  4. I liked, but didn’t love this for some reason. I think I’m in the minority because my favorite so far has been An Abundance of Katherines. I don’t think it was necessarily better than the other books (they’re all well-written), but I just connected with the characters more and it made a difference in the reading experience.

    1. I’m amazed how much you read that you hadn’t yet sampled anything by John Green. But, there ARE so many wonderful books by many terrific authors out there just waiting to be read…

  5. I loved this also, and did you know he has a site in which he discusses what some stuff in the book means? Like the last line – I totally missed the significance although my husband got it so there is the possibility that I am one of the only people in the universe who missed it….

    1. Oh, I think I understand. I get it. But I still adore JG. I know that I have sentimental reasons – John Green reminds me that Dewey is the one who introduced me to him. I wish her reviews had not been taken down.

  6. I am glad you liked this one Care. I haven’t reviewed it yet and I’m just not sure that I will as I would give it 3 slices of pie. And not a kind of pie that I’m crazy about (though I can’t think of a pie I’m not crazy about). I didn’t connect with the characters in this book like I have with other Green books. In fact, it might be my least favorite.

    To not end my comment on a sour note…I think I discovered a pie shop near my house! Tooties. Think it sounds like a great reason for you to visit. Bring Nancy/Bookfool with you and we’ll have a big ole party.

  7. I had to go read my own review again, and then Heather’s. And yep, I still agree with us. 😀
    But I do still love John Green, and I’d never bash him for writing about cancer. Tons of people write about things they’ve never experienced and people don’t bash them (although some of them certainly could do with a bashing).

    1. I still love JG and I do see the familiar components of his story structure yet I cant’ bring myself to say formulaic not even really sure that is an detriment, really. But if his books were any longer? I wouldn’t like ’em as much.

      1. jb

        watership down is my favorite of my teen years, and the only one I remember and think about often 35 years later. The stand was also good – before S.K. got repetitive.

  8. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with an author writing about something he hasn’t experienced but like anything else if you, as a reader, have been through it, you tend to be pickier. I’m having trouble not wanting to scream about the hick accents the author of Robopocalypse has given to his Oklahoman characters because . . . well, they’re not right. But, that’s not really why I’m avoiding The Fault in Their Stars. My mom’s experience is too painful to revisit, just as reading about people having to unplug someone who has become brain dead still hurts.

    IOW, I still adore John Green but I won’t be reading The Fault in Our Stars, no matter how much people love it!

    1. OK, and may I suggest that you do not read WILD, neither. It has a ton more nasty cancer dealing mess than TFioS. Which makes TFioS the stronger and more optimistic and hopeful than the other.

  9. This book is everywhere. I’ve seen it reviewed dozens of times and it was all the talk of ArmchairBEA. It is soooooo far outside my usual reading “box”, but I’m going to have to give in and read it, if for no other reason that to be able to join in the conversations.

    Thanks for the review.

  10. Pingback: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green | Book Journey

  11. Pingback: YAY! It’s June | Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

