Take the Cannoli

Thoughts  Take the Cannoli by Sarah Vowell, Simon & Schuster 2000, 219 pages, tradeback, sent to me from the awesome Fizzy SoftDrink

Since nobody is reading this blog anyway, (only based on the fact that I had to cajole Nancy to comment on my last book review post on an old thriller that seems that everybody else has avoided; maybe it is ____ invisible?____) I am just going to ramble about stuff. Yes, I’ve had more coffee this morning than I should have.

The other night, we watched ONE FOR THE MONEY movie with Katherine Heigl playing Stephanie Plum and it was a fun caper, I suppose. She did a good job but I would probably only rate it a 3 star not that it could ever hope to be a 5 star even if perfect because…. because it is just — crap, I’m falling into the same trap as rating books!  It wasn’t LITERARY?!  Anyway,

Have you read any of Janet Evanovich’s Plum books?  I think I made it to nine, maybe 10 before I got bored. This was pre-blogging days. There’s a line in the movie when Plum says to Ranger that Morelli ‘stole her cannoli’ and the waitress says, ‘Honey, he stole a LOT of cannolis’ and that’s what reminded me I really needed to write this review.

I would say, right off the bat (or maybe the END IS NEAR story which I believe is third in the line up), that it is obvious the book was written over 10 years ago and NOT because it is caught in that time warp problem or no longer culturally relevant but because it has a pre-Sept 11 feel to it. I don’t mean to turn this silly review down a serious path, but this really struck me.

Perhaps because Sarah IS snarky?

Whatever, I do love how she thinks and her nonchalance in expressing her thoughts. I was particularly impressed at her experimenting with goth fashion and I was laughing through the insomnia chapter – Softdrink also noted the punctuation discussion. I really enjoyed the bit on the Chelsea Hotel because when I read Just Kids by Patti Smith, I was so intrigued, I wiki-researched and tried to find photos of the Chelsea! I find it terribly sad that the place now has new owners and sincerely hope they don’t mess it up. The title story is a good reminder that I need to reread or review The Godfather. I think it was one of the those books I read in High School to prove I was ‘grown up’. I probably read the book before I was allowed to see the movie. But I could be wrong. I wasn’t allowed to see Jaws; I want to read that one, too.

But I was most moved by the Trail of Tears travelogue. What a dark chapter in our country’s history. (not Sarah’s retracing but the original march by the Cheyenne.)

I’ve read Wordy Shipmates; I am looking forward to reading Assassination Vacation next.

What Sarah Vowell book is your favorite?

43 thoughts on “Take the Cannoli

  1. Hey! We’re reading. But it’s June, so some of us are reading fast and then going outside! Or taking one of the Stephanie Plum books outside…last night I picked up a J.D. Robb, because school’s out.

    1. Good, it is important to read. Otherwise, we would have nothing to review.

      I have a serious case of overwhelmedness with books I WANT to read, all of them, at the same time and now.

  2. Haven’t read any of Sarah Vowell’s books, but this sounds entertaining, along the lines of A.J. Jacobs’ books, which are on my mind because I have an overdue review of the Drop Dead Healthy audiobook to write.
    P.S. I’m reading your posts; I just don’t always comment because I don’t want you to think I’m a stalker!

    1. I’m only saying… I think my last post was a deserted ghost town. ALL visitors lately have commented on other posts and it was … eerie.

  3. I did the same thing with the Stephanie Plum books — quit about Book 8 or so because I felt like I was reading the same book over and over and over. I need to read Take the Cannoli!

  4. My only experience with the Plum series is about half an hour of an audiobook when Serena and her husband were driving me home one day. I don’t even remember which one it was, but the narrator’s voice was so annoying that it’s turned me off from the series. Not that I ever had any real plans to read it, LOL. I’ve seen some bloggers say they are growing tired of it.

  5. Ruthiella

    Hey, I am here lurking too. 🙂 I just don’t comment much. Especially on reviews where I haven’t read the book, since all I have to say is “nice review!” or “sounds interesting”.

    I read the first three of the Janet Evanovitch books. They are cute…but forgettable. I am avoiding those endless series that I used to read (Jonathan Kellerman, Tami Hoeg, etc.) in favor of reading outside of my comfort zone…like with The City and the City…which was slow (and confusing) to start with but now has me HOOKED.

    1. HI Lurker! I really got to a few of you!

      I am going to attempt to finish HarryPotter 1 before I beging City&City. Glad to hear you are enjoying it.

    1. Trish, your posts are not invisible! I started to comment on one yesterday, but my boss walked up to my cubie and I had to close the window before I was busted! 😀

      Care…I don’t suppose that excuse will work twice? No? Okay, so I was driving home yesterday and I swear I saw Oscar walking through San Luis Obispo. Does that make up for the lack of a comment?

      Anyhoosie. Assassination Vacation (Ass Vac for short) is my favorite Vowell. It morbidly snarky.

  6. I like the descriptions “ghost-towned” and “comment storm”. My blog is a ghost town, these days, although ABEA made it pick up a bit.

    I would have visited you, anyway, you know . . . even if you hadn’t begged. You just brought it to my attention that you’d posted (helpful, since I don’t use a reader).

    Haven’t finished a Sarah Vowell book, yet. I was enjoying her first and then got bogged down in another book and set it aside. I’ll get back to it. Her writing is pretty fun. I enjoyed this post, although part of it didn’t make sense to me (may be a bit tired, here).

      1. Thank you, dear. And, good for Jenners. 🙂 When do you want to read The Language of Flowers? I’m thinking this week might be good for me. It will take me longer than usual to get through, I’m sure.

        1. OH dear! NOT NOW! I’m listening to THE STAND (do NOT ask me why) I have a readalong with Lu and Nymeth staring June 15 for Mieville’s The City and the City and I signed up for Carol Shields month (yes JUNE!) and I am in the middle of the first Harry Potter. oh, and book club chose Fault in our Stars to read by June 25. Crazy? why, yes. Yes, I am.

  7. Happy early birthday! Or wait, no, you published this post yesterday which means TODAY IS YOUR BIRTHDAY! Happy birthday! Happy birthday, Care! And also that I try to love Sarah Vowell and continually do not love her, which is sad for me.

  8. Happy birthday, Care! I have got to get some Sarah Vowell one of these days – heard her speaking on the radio the other day and the lady is smart and funny.

  9. I’m reading! I read everything you post; I’m just usually a lurker. But here I’m de-lurking to say stand up and say: My name is Jessica. I have never read anything my Sarah Vowell.

    Now that I’m sitting back down, I will say that I do have one of her books on my shelves (THE WORDY SHIPMATES, I think) and that I do want to get to it soon.

    Also, I loved the ramblings about cannolis. And I haven’t read any Stephanie Plum novels either. So I really should be chiming in at all!

      1. Sure. 🙂
        Aha! Another lurker exposed. I hope you like Wordy Shipmates. I would recommend the companion read of Mayflower which is totally different delivery style.

  10. I read a bunch of the Stephanie Plum books back in the day, but I think I stopped right when I got to the last one published at the time, then never picked them up again. I did sort of want to see the movie though, just because the first book was fun.

    1. Yes, way back in the day before I realized how many books I really do want to read.

      I was reading/swapping Plum books with a coworker so that made it fun. I always associate that friend with Evanovich.

  11. I stuck with Steph through 15 but I don’t remember the last one that was actually good, probably around 10. I thought the movie was passable but not much more.
    Sorry I missed your birthday!!! Hope it was a great one 🙂

  12. I had an interest in the Chelsea Hotel a few months ago too! Did you know that there’s a Chelsea Hotel book out? It’s a few years old. Hopefully, the new owners won’t mess the building up. God, I wish it was still open. Can you imagine?

    1. I did NOT know about a Chelsea Hotel book. Hope it has lots of photos. I really did fall down a rabbit hole chasing the info and story of this building. It IS a character all itself.

  13. I’ve only read one of her books, Assassination Vacation. I liked it but it really didn’t stick with me much. I’m interested in her books though, they sound quirky and fun like her. I’ve never heard her on NPR but I loved her as Violet in The Incredibles.

  14. Hi~ I popped over from Beth’s What’s in a Name post and have to say that Nope, I haven’t read either of those series though I have friends that can’t seem to get enough to them.
    What I’m really interested in is that raspberry pie you were making. Pass over a piece, please!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

