Into the Wild

Thoughts  Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer, AUDIO by Random House 1999 (orig 1996), 6 discs 7 hours [for my page counting dilemma, I will count the hardcover 224 pages.]

Krakauer has been on my must-get-to-authors list for some time. I fully expected to love this, since I do enjoy nonfiction and Krakauer is often celebrated.

Unfortunately, as riveting as it was, I felt conflicted and uncomfortable listening to this. I felt like I was spying. I didn’t understand why he would hate his parents so much and cut himself off from his family. If personality types are on a scale, he and I would have been on opposite ends of the spectrum.

Not that I can’t admire his can-do ambitious spirit to live life his way.

It was all just sad.

Three slices of berry pie.

I am very glad to have read it. But I can’t say I enjoyed it.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
26 thoughts on “Into the Wild

  1. It was a sad and depressing book, wasn’t it? The movie version is quite good. It left me in tears though. I think Krakauer’s best book so far was Into Thin Air. Absolutely riveting!

    1. I think I got enough about mountain climbing from this one. I am not at all interested in Into Thin Air. Maybe the Under the Banner of Heaven one. Maybe.

  2. trish422

    I’ve always thought I would just be frustrated by his decision, that I would find it childish instead of noble or heroic. Then I’d feel all bad because I wasn’t sad and I know I’m supposed to be…

    1. I think I went through a lot of different emotions – like a lava lamp, if that makes any sense. I would disagree that there is any ‘supposed to’s in this. Really, I thought it a balanced presentation.

  3. I don’t know if you’re supposed to enjoy this one, you know? It’s such a sad, frustrating story and there’s nothing to be done about it. That’s aggravating. But the writing is so good, I think that makes it worth reading. If you do Krakauer on audio again, try Into Thin Air. The audio book of that one, in particular, is riveting.

  4. We were in Alaska when the movie came out and Alaskans feel very strongly about the stupidity of his choices. I think that’s swayed me away from the book, but it sounds like it is just too sad, anyway. Onward! Do I need to send you a book? I think you’d like A Paper Garden.

  5. This book made me really sad too, especially since I have an 18 year old son and can’t imagine him cutting himself off from me to go off to the wilderness, change his name, and end up dead. I think Krakauer did a good job on the book. I didn’t like the movie nearly so much.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

