Saturday

Thoughts  Saturday by Ian McEwan, Anchor Books 2005, 291 pages

FOR:  Just another one for the calendar category of BethFishReads’ What’s In a Name 5 Challenge?  [I'm still searching for the fits-in-a-pocket category, just sayin'.]

BECAUSE:  I have some kind of crush on Ian McEwan. Because I like books that are set entirely within a 24 hours period. Because I heard somewhere that McEwan wrote this as his take on Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf and I loved that book. But do know —  I did not like Mrs. Dalloway upon my first reading. I adored it on my second reading. It sold me on the value of re-reading. I used to never re-read books. I give a ton of credit to a few of you bloggers who love to re-read and have expressed your dismay that I never did. So… Thank you. I hope you know who you are. (ok, I’ll send you a poke/link/tweet to make sure!)

CREDIT DUE:  to FizzyJill. FizzyJill was not so enamored by this book and apparentlly not by all that is IMcE. I do not judge her nor fault her but only thank her for buying this book, reading it, posting on it, and then sending it on to me because I begged her to. She even included $5 and change* to thank me for taking it off her hands!  Crazy chick. *SMILES*

POSSIBLY WORTHY OF A REREAD?  Yes.

FIRST SENTENCE:  “Some hours before dawn Henry Perowne, a neurosurgeon, wakes to find himself already in motion, pushing back the covers from a sitting position, and then rising to his feet.”

WHAT’s it ABOUT:  Henry wakes early on a day that is officially a day off but  is full of stuff that has to be done because his daughter and father-in-law are flying into town.

We are privileged to be IN HIS HEAD with almost every thought. How much he loves his wife, reminiscing of how they met, why he chose neurology, how much he enjoys his work. We learn how conflicted he is about politics; what to think about the world and terrorism and poverty vs. wealth. He visits his mother who is far gone in terms of old age senility. We participate in a squash game and feel the competitiveness and loathing of what aging does to our bodies in term of keeping up to what we want to do, what we used to do. He thinks about his kids and reflects on his childhood. Are we smarter in ‘middle-age’? Do we settle for life as we know it, lose our ambition or ability to dream, or do we end up living lives within the constructs of the possible futures of our children? Weighed against what our parents were able to accomplish? Are our entire lives a question? Is the answer eternally elusive because the parameters keep changing.

I should mention that he has a minor crash in his Mercedes and thus meets some loathsome characters. He cooks dinner but it gets interrupted. I would have loved his fish stew and crusty bread and red wine.

Feel free to read Softdrink’s review and wonder if I’m saying anything different. Except I LOVED IT. I knew I would love it and I relish the questioning quizzing of how I would know I would love it and yet not be disappointed by over-expecting? Life is just odd. Play along.

I’m still in love with IMcE.

RATING:  Four slices of pie.

WHY NOT FIVE?  I rolled my eyes just a few times with the predictableness of the story. It’s not what happens; it’s how McEwan describes what happens.

RECOMMENDED TO:  Those who love London and recognize streets and landmarks. I’ve never been but it was heavy on the London setting. Those who love being in a character’s head. Those who love books set in a single day. Those who have a crush on Ian McEwan.

* Softdrink didn’t really send me any money. But she offered! But then realized I am truly a bit insane with my IMcE crush so paying me to take this book off of her hands was entirely unnecessary.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
29 Responses to “Saturday”


  1. 1 Laurie C April 15, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    I listened to Saturday as an audiobook. It was definitely not my favorite of Ian McEwan’s books, but I did like it, apart from the enormous unlikelihood of one part of the plot.

    • 2 Care April 16, 2012 at 11:25 am

      Listening to this on audio would be tough, I think. It is so easy to wander off the thoughts into my own thought-territory and would probably have to hit replay often!

  2. 3 BermudaOnion April 15, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    I do love London but I’m a little wary of McEwen because I haven’t loved his books that I’ve read. I’m on the fence on tis one.

  3. 5 Jenners April 15, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    That is why book blogging is so great … you get a full array of opinions. Now will you pay me to read the book? HAHA!

    • 6 Care April 16, 2012 at 11:23 am

      Oh yes! And why I like to read dissenting opinions of a book and why I can still like a blogger and think I will never like the books they read. Which is not always the case with Miss JillyFizz but I sometimes know what I like and what she will not.

  4. 7 Trish April 15, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    You got me! I was about to ask FizzyJill what book I could take off her hands (along with change). ;) Kidding.

    Ok, I’ll have to try this one again when I’m not so braindead. I must have read that first page a MILLION times before moving on to something a little lighter. I didn’t read your section about what this book is about but I did see what you said about Mrs. Dalloway. Please tell me you’ve read (and loved) The Hours.

    • 8 Care April 16, 2012 at 11:22 am

      Yes, I read The Hours. I read Mrs. Dalloway and then read The Hours and then went to see the movie The Hours as part of a (pre-blogging) personal project.

  5. 9 softdrink April 15, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    But I love London! I didn’t get much of a sense of it from the book, though. Maybe that’s ’cause I’ve never worked there? You should sail over for a visit. ;-)

    • 10 Care April 16, 2012 at 11:21 am

      Really? While he’s driving around and also looking out his window? OK. I really got curious and sad that I didn’t know the streets and layout of London to travel along with him. But it also is something that Woolf did in Mrs. D.

  6. 11 samstillreading April 15, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    Love your review. Think I would like this one – I like fish stew and I like books about London.

    • 12 Care April 16, 2012 at 11:20 am

      Well, I hope these are good enough reasons! :D He mentions many road and street names but the only one that really strikes a chord with me (since I’ve never visited) was Charing Cross Road.

  7. 13 reviewsbylola April 16, 2012 at 10:35 am

    I have only read Atonement, but I do hope to read this one and On Chesil Beach soon.

  8. 15 Ti April 16, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    I read one a long time ago. I remember liking it, but my book club did not. So many people take issue with McEwan. He writes with too much detail, they say. I don’t find that to be a problem, actually.

  9. 17 Stepping Out of the Page April 17, 2012 at 11:10 am

    This sounds really good! I’ve not yet read any books by McEwan, but I know a lot of people really enjoy his work. I’ll have to give ‘Saturday’ a go! Thanks for a great post.

    New to your blog!

    • 18 Care April 17, 2012 at 7:55 pm

      Welcome! I think Atonement is his most famous book – probably because the movie, but Saturday is shorter. If you care about that. (I do.)

  10. 19 Vasilly April 17, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    I think I have a copy of this somewhere around here. I need to find it and read it especially since I’ve never read anything by McEwan before.

  11. 21 boardinginmyforties April 17, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    I still haven’t read any of his work and I really need to. Thank you for a wonderful commentary and the encouragement I need to pick up one of his books and get reading it!

  12. 23 JoAnn (@lakesidemusing) April 18, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    I love McEwan, London, Mrs. Dalloway… and own the book. This is a no-brainer for me!! Great review, Care.

  13. 25 Jessica April 19, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    Okay, this book has been on my shelves and TBR list FOREVER. And I skimmed enough of this review to know that I must read it now. I <3 Ian McEwan. :)

  14. 27 bostonbibliophile April 19, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    i think ian mcewan is my literary boyfriend. his books are so good!!! :) i haven’t read this one yet but i will have to!

  15. 29 stacybuckeye April 28, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    Still haven’t read him, but I do like books that take place in a day and this one looks pretty good (based on your review, not Jill’s :)).


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

LetterMo2014square

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,406 other followers

Twitter Updates

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Goodreads

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,406 other followers

