The Bookies : Book Club Report : March 2012

Greetings! Just wanted to do some statistics and analysis and other fun bookish stuff relating to my bookclub aka THE BOOKIES.

We are 8 members strong and fun and bright, representing a variety of preferred genres yet all are wiling to be adventuresome.

We met yesterday to discuss We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver. I gave it the highest score, 4 out of 5 (but I read it 4 1/2 years ago, if that matters) while most others gave it 3 stars. We all recognized the intelligent masterful writing skill of the author but found the story itself horrific.

One member had to leave before close of business; we voted on the top 5 of the 34 books we have read (mostly) together since Spring 2009.

In reverse date read order:

Zeitoun – Dave Eggers -Aug 2010
The Book Thief – Mark Zusak – June 2010
Sarah’s Key – Tatiana deRosnay – Dec 2009
The Help – Kathryn Stockett – Sep 2009
Still Alice – Lisa Genova – Apr 2009

The next runner- ups were:

The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern – Jan  2012
The Paris Wife – Paula McClain – Nov 2011
The Imperfectionists – Tom Rachman – Feb 2011
In the Woods  – Tana French – May 2009

We rotate who chooses the book and that person also has the authority to present a choice for vote or to dictate a title for us to read. This latest round for our April selection was a vote between:

The Elephant Keeper – Christopher Nicholson – WINNER
Unbroken – Laura Hillenbrand
The Tiger’s Wife – Téa Obrecht
The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger

The total list of books can be accessed by clicking on this sentence. My club members can go to goodreads to see it, as well.

The almost equal proportion of male to female authors is 17:18 (including the latest selection) and nonfiction to fiction is 7:28. We’ve read a few thrillers and mysteries, a lot of contemporary lit and chick lit, one fantasy, one classic, and two translations.

We have a group in goodreads and a private page in Facebook for keeping in touch and I keep a list in a google-DOC created for yesterday’s vote. I think I am the secretary…

We have a great time and that’s the whole point.

Thank you for indulging me on this; I hope you like the lists. By the way, I have the selection coming up for May. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

“The worst thing about reading new books is that they keep us from reading the old ones.”
                                                                               — Joseph Joubert

“The worst thing about reading new books is that they keep us from reading the old ones.”
— Joseph JoubertHIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
14 thoughts on “The Bookies : Book Club Report : March 2012

  1. It looks like our book clubs read many of the same titles! The Help, The Paris Wife, The Book Thief and Sarah’s Key were all very popular with us. The Night Circus didn’t have as great of a reception!

    1. Some books do seem to make the club rounds more than others. I know a bunch of club-worthy titles have been considered for votes but only one can win each month.

    1. I was both surprised and not surprised – no, that really doesn’t make any sense. Let’s just say we usually differ! or like different things about the books.

  2. I loved The Night Circus but felt curiously uninclined to talk about it much with anyone. One book that’s always on book club lists is Lorna Landvik’s Welcome to the Great Mysterious. While boxing up my books, I came across it and remembered what a good book it was and how I’d wished I had someone to talk about it with (pre-blogging).

    1. We always get to vote on some interesting choices which I try to track in case we want to revisit a book that almost won. I love that we throw in nonfiction every so often.

  3. I’m discussing Zeitoun with my library group in April — the one that almost failed because no one showed up in February. I thought it was a great story but so depressing. I’m pretty sure someone else will show up to discuss it as all the copies have been checked out. I think The Paris Wife will be up soon.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

