New Challenges Page Notice FYI

I have moved the old 2011 Challenges Page to the list on my Gallimaufry Page and added the new 2012 Challenges to the Banner. Does anyone know how to change the order so I can list it third? I would also love to change the main page title from BLOG to HOME but I think that is concrete in the template.

Gasp – – I might change templates! Only if I can find one that is clean, one side column, white background, with interchangeable header photos. In other words, that looks just like this one with only a few things improved.

Like tags at the end of the post and the click-to-go-to comments at the end of a post. I really dislike that once you read to the end of a post, you have to go back to the top to click on comments to add your say. So, I’m going to work on that.  And tags should be like postscripts not prescripts.

Is a Bloggiesta planned any time soon?

Okie dokie, just some maintenance news for the new year. Happy Day!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
17 thoughts on “New Challenges Page Notice FYI

  1. I’m not sure I understand what you want to do, but for the header menu: your theme supports custom menu, so you can use that. Under Appearance>Menus, and you should be able both to choose the order you want, and to put Home instead of Blog. Let me know if it works!
    As for comments, I’m afraid I can’t help. I struggled to find a theme that suited me… and I realize it has the same problem. But I guess most people still visit the single post page, and therefore can comment without having to scroll back up to the top of the post.

    1. Thanks! However. I’m not sure – it says I have to create a menu and I really don’t know what that will do or what it is. I see the pages listed but it won’t let me do anything with them unless I create the menu first. Apparently – my assumption – is that my template has my header/banner page listings already as a default. I don’t know what creating a menu with do with that. I’m afraid I wouldn’t be able to go back if do this? And the “Blog” isn’t even listed. I think it is unchangeable.

      But that’s OK. I really do have better things to do with my time! I have reading to do and other blog visiting to do and, and, and…
      🙂

      1. Let me congratulate you on the new theme! 🙂 The header is big, but I still have to find a theme that answers all of a given blogger’s needs. Oh well. (WordPress.com would be the solution, of course, but I’m not going there. Not now.)
        Just in case you ever want to tweak the header menu: I had the same reserves you have, but then tried custom menu and it works great. And you can opt out at any time, or switch back and forth between regular menu and custom menu. Basically, you have to create a menu, and then you tell WordPress what to do with that menu, where to put it. See here: http://en.support.wordpress.com/menus/#activating-your-menu (and to switch back to normal you just select the empty line and click save!)
        HTH 🙂

        1. Thanks! My new theme is BIG, too which I don’t really like but I have a quick hit button to make it smaller so whatever. I just might try menus sometimes but this works fine for me.

    1. I think I was activating this new one while you were commenting! I don’t like all the space the header takes up – get me to the post! But this has everything else I like. I think. so far.
      We need a bloggiesta. Maybe even a mini-bloggiesta?

  2. Looks like you’ve already found some answers. I never pay attention to Bloggiesta because I am a blog-updating sloth. However, I just peeked at Natasha’s twitter feed, since she hasn’t posted to her blog in 6 months. Last tweeting day, she mentioned preparing for Baby #3.

      1. Thanks Nancy! I had checked her blog and wondered if she had moved and I didn’t know it. Then I got distracted. You’re a peach.
        And I hope you know that I think sloths are just the cutest. We met Rhonda the Sloth in Costa Rica and she was just adorable.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

