Lobster and a Question


The book I am currently reading Before Ever After by Samantha Sotto is titled at goodreads. com as ‘Before Ever After:  A Novel’.  Why do some books include these words “A Novel” in the title?  as a subtitle?  Just curious…

Sorry the photo is a bit blurry.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
19 thoughts on “Lobster and a Question

  1. I TOTALLY agree about the “a novel” thing. I don’t get why so many books do that. Even AS Byatt’s Possession is subtitled “A romance,” which is such a ridiculous understatement I can’t even begin to describe..

        1. Hub is proposing we boat up to Acadia; will see if he would entertain a stop only a bit farther north. But I think we’re gonna need more time. 🙂

  2. Is there an official reason for doing that? I can sometimes sympathize — to use Aarti’s example, I think “Possession: A Romance” is a nice case of deliberate understatement. In cases like that I think it’s a neat idea. But in most cases I don’t understand why they’ve bothered. Maybe it’s that they think “Before Ever After” would otherwise sound like a book about the cultural evolution of fairy tales. :p

    1. Yet, I find that most (a lot? only ones I’ve read?) that nonfiction makes the BEST use of subtitles. I love when a nonfiction book has a 4 line subtitle. 😉

  3. Apparently, it is supposed to make the novel name sound more complete. No, I made that reason up. But I read an author’s essay on how he came up with a title for his book. I forgot the book, but it had just one word in the title, and his editor adding ‘A Novel’ to it so that it sounded more like a title. Weird.

  4. Cute lobster 😀 I’ve always wondered the same thing about novels, lol. Why do you feel the need to TELL us it’s a novel! We know that!! Sometimes I think it just makes an author feel more official :p

  5. Because they think we can’t figure out that there are novels in the “fiction” section? I have wondered the same, although occasionally there have been titles that I thought would be easily confused as non-fiction. Still . . . we’re not quite that dim, are we? It’s not like they don’t usually say “fiction” or “non-fiction” on the cover.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

