20 thoughts on “Neuromancer

  1. I’ve always wondered about this book. It’s really old, isn’t it? Like, it came out when I was in high school, old. LOL. I think I tried it once when I was in high school but I wasn’t into Sci Fi at the time.

    1. Oh, thanks! Maybe read Snow Crash? I would/should say that Neuromancer does have sexual violence which I didn’t like. So, I would read this before you let your kids read it (they are still middle school, right?)

  2. This is one of those books that I really *want* to read…and yet it really scares the crap out of me, you know–figuring it’s over my head. The scared side of me always wins out when I see it sitting there on the shelf. I’m not sure you did anything to change that. 😛 But I am glad you had fun with it.

    Btw–thanks so much for the card! I thought this year’s Christmas stamps were cute–that is, until I saw your stamp! Too adorable for words! 😀

    1. hee hee – I love photo-stamps!

      And it’s not that the technology was over my head… How do explain – it is more the wondering if I’m imagining what the author intends for me to ‘see’ but I could argue we have that conundrum in any book we read. I was more confused as to who was what, etc that that is typical of most thrillers I read.

      In other words, just read it and find out. It’s not like the vocab makes fun of your ignorance or anything like that. It’s more a marvel that this guy thought up stuff for the future that some has happened/exists and some not.

    1. oh do! I like sci-fi, I do. I just tend to ignore it more than I probably should, I suppose. Wait – there are no ‘shoulds’ in life, right? 😛

  3. Thanks for the link, Care. I almost wish I’d read Neuromancer when it first came out*, because it would have been ground-breaking and astonishing in its portrayal of “cyberspace” ( term Gibson invented in the novel). That said, it’s interesting to read now and see how well Gibson predicted technology of the future (except perhaps for the enhancements that people like Case and Molly have).

    I prefer Snow Crash as well.

    * Except when I was eleven I was not into sci-fi at all…

    1. See? I didn’t know he coined the term ‘cyberspace’ – probably glossed right over it. I did, however, look up ‘microsofting’ as a verb and to see when the company MicroSoft was founded. ;P

      This book would be a fun one in a college class that could explain and offer insight into new-concept-then vs now. Or an annotated. That would be cool, too.

  4. Wow, this book was published the month I was born!

    I just started this a couple of days back, and I’m enjoying it so far. Sorry couldn’t to it earlier, but I may be able to read without much interruption over the next few days. Though, like you mentioned, it would be hard looking at this book as THE book that kicked off the whole cyberpunk genre – the whole television sky thing was a bit of a turn-off – I don’t see those grainy screens anymore. Still, I guess when you imagine that this book was published in 1984, I guess you could say that this guy had a lot of vision to pull off something like this. Anyways, I can’t wait to get back to the book!

  5. Pingback: The Sparrow | Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

