What’s in a Name 5 (2012)

I have signed up for the What’s in a Name 5 Challenge!  Clicking on the above button will take you to the official site so you can learn all about it.  But the important stuff is the categories:

  1. A book with a topographical feature (land formation) in the title: Black Hills, Purgatory Ridge, Emily of Deep Valley
  2. A book with something you’d see in the sky in the title: Moon Called, Seeing Stars, Cloud Atlas
  3. A book with a creepy crawly in the title: Little Bee, Spider Bones, The Witches of Worm
  4. A book with a type of house in the title: The Glass Castle, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, Ape House
  5. A book with something you’d carry in your pocket, purse, or backpack in the title: Sarah’s Key, The Scarlet Letter, Devlin Diary
  6. A book with a something you’d find on a calendar in the title: Day of the Jackal, Elegy for April, Freaky Friday, Year of Magical Thinking

So, my options CURRENTLY in my HOUSE for each of these quick cat descriptions are:

TOPOGRAPHY:   Oliver Sacks’ The Island of the Colorblind, I’ve rejected Two Rivers because it technically is not a ‘land formation’ and I have doubts about roads, too, so I’m not choosing Revolutionary Road.  Darn.  A River Runs Through It, however….  The land part is what the river runs through so the topography here is IMPLIED?!  yes?

SKY:  Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell – Reading in March with Erin of Erin Reads.  I’m committed here.  Yay!

CREEPY-CRAWLY:   HELP!!!   I hate spiders but I was thinking that Patterson’s Along Came a Spider would work and then I could see the flick. Unfortunately, this is not on the shelf at my local library but I could ILL it.  I’ve already read Little Bee and that other Bee book Secret Life of.

HOUSE:  Lots more here than I thought there would be.  Anyone read any of these?   I might even re-read HOUSE by Tracy Kidder which I will mention is “AAAaaaaawwwwwweeeeesssssssooome”.  I’ve got The Woman on the Roof * by a Nebraskan writer, Mignon Eberhart and there’s also Elizabeth Berg’s Open House.  AND, Daphne DuMaurier’s Jamaica Inn.  I’ve been wanting to read this forever.  I own Ape House, too, but forgot to pull it for the photo.

POCKETABLE:  Nothing on my shelf fits this…   Help requested here, too, please.

CALENDAR:  I’ve got Anita Diamant’s Day After Night so I’m going with that at this time.  But Fire Season might work.  And there’s Rites of Spring which works for my John Cusack Challenge.

OK, your turn!  What are you selecting or what can you recommend?  Throw ’em at me.  

* ROOF is only a ‘piece’ of a house so maybe that won’t qualify…

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
11 thoughts on “What’s in a Name 5 (2012)

    1. Kathy, thanks for the Bedbugs! I *really* do not like bugs. I have a book with LETTER in the title but I’ve already read it. See FizzyThoughts sug – it’s brilliant!

    1. BRILLIANT!

      Yes, children *can* be creepy… The day I wrote this post, a character on Big Bang Theory was an entomologist with last name CRAWLEY. Coincidence?

  1. This challenge is always so tempting, but as I haven´t been able to finish it this year (even though I think I have the books ready on my TBR), I´ll not commit myself yet. Perhaps when I have read a dozen books I feel I ought to review first.

  2. You’ve probably read Lord of the Flies, right? Flies are kind of creepy.

    Topography: The Cay by Theodore Taylor (an old favorite children’s book – I’d guess middle reader) or A Mountain of Crumbs by Elena Gordkhova (“the Russian equivalent of Angela’s Ashes”, according to the cover). Or, How Green Was My Valley by Richard Llewellyn.

    Pocketable: The Monkey’s Raincoat by Robert Crais? LOL I know that’s a stretch. But, you could undoubtedly fit a monkey’s raincoat into your pocket and it’s a very fun book.

    Fire Season is totally amazing. It’s going on my Top 10 for 2011. Spring Snow by Yukio Mishima would work, too, but I’m sure you want to go with something on your stacks.

    I need to read Cloud Atlas. I’ve heard it’s amazing.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

