Diamonds, a short list

In order to complete the What’s in a Name 4 Challenge, I have to read ONE MORE book  — one that has a gem or jewel in the title.

Or just give up and count this one.  Earlier this year, I had dipped into:   Cat in a Diamond Dazzle by Carole Nelson Douglas. I didn’t quite get half way when I put it aside and then…  LOST the book. I can’t find it anywhere. Truthfully, I wasn’t too into it. It has a similar feel to the Stephanie Plum books which I got bored with after #11.

But I really want to finish this challenge! I don’t have any other books on my shelves that have a jewel-y title.  So I am going to make an executive decision (await the verdict from the challenge gods and suffer the consequences). Half a book will have to count.

This is one of my most favorite challenges!  Is it yours?  I have not had a good challenge-accomplishing kind of year, so I’m reaching for something/anything that will make me feel good about 2011 from a literary perspective.

On that note, I would like to point out OTHER ‘diamond’ books that maybe might qualify – but these still are reaches. Perhaps this is a public service to anyone else needing a gem and having time to read it…

First, I’ve read ONE book prior to blogging that had DIAMOND in the title:

Barren Lands: An Epic Search for Diamonds in the North American Arctic  by Kevin Krajick.

Considering it is set in cold climes, it’s amazing I finished it. But it’s GOOD!  It’s a thrilling fascinating nonfiction adventure of the race to find diamonds in Canada and keep them OUT of the hands of that famous diamond cartel. I recommend it. I would recommend it over Cats and Dazzle.

and another book in my goodreads MyBooks list referencing DIAMONDS is:

Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend: Women Writers on Baseball   edited by Elinor Nauen, which was something I found on the interwebs that reminds me of a young lady named Abbey who might also enjoy it.  Probably more than I would.  *smiles*   She might be taking a break from baseball in 2012 but I know it’s in her heart.

Finally,

the next book IS on my list and has been read or listed on the tbr by many of my friends:

Guns, Germs and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies  by Jared DIAMOND.  I scooped this up at a library sale for $2, knowing it is a nonfic title that many people have said nice things.  Sure, ‘diamond’ isn’t quite in the title, but it IS on the cover. It’s in the house…  I still have 25 days left in this month, this year.

May you all sparkle and shine like diamonds this holiday season!  Your blogging friendships are diamonds in my literary jewelry box.  Now go sign up here for What’s in a Name 5.

.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
14 thoughts on “Diamonds, a short list

  1. If you’re still in search of a book with diamonds, I like the Peter Lovesey’s Detective Diamond mysteries. They don’t all have the word diamond in the title, but there’s Diamond Dust and Diamond Solitare. They’re good solid English detective fiction, and not terribly long, which is plus during the holidays. Maybe a nice good murder during the festive season?

    1. Of course, who wouldn’t want a good murder for the holidays?! I think I might crack open the Guns and Germs but it is NOT short. I was just at the library or I would have looked for these. Hmmm. But first I have to HAVE TO read the book club book. Don’t know why I’m avoiding it…

    1. OH, I wouldn’t quibble abt the word/theme being in subtitle! Go for it.
      NOW, help me find a book for WiaN5 for the creepy-crawly category! I’ll be posting my signup post soon with my options for all the cats but this one has me stumped at the moment.

  2. How about Philip Pullman’s The Ruby in the Smoke, the first of his Sally Lockhart books (which are excellent)? Jill Paton Walsh’s The Attenbury Emeralds (one of her Dorothy L Sayers things)? Wilkie Collins’ The Moonstone (a moonstone is a type of feldspar and the Moonstone of the title is a diamond, so you win twice!)?

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

