19 thoughts on “People of the Book

    1. I have read some good reviews that hint that it might be “predictable” and for some, thriller-like reads should be more surprising? but I also think I was confused that this wasn’t as ‘thriller-ish’ but more book history stuff. SO. It IS more thriller-ish. That said, if you go in for the fun of it and how interesting Brooks’ imagination is in all that she made up and linked together, I think you will enjoy it.

  1. I have read Year of Wonder too and that is my only experience with Brooks. I have this one and maybe even March, which I especially want to read, so I am glad you had a good experience with this one.

    1. I think I mention that I was fearful that it wouldn’t be as good as I hoped but I also didn’t expect it to be so thriller in style so I was able to adjust my expectations and then really enjoy it!

      It was so long ago when I read Year of Wonder – I only recall I thought it really good.

  2. I haven’t read any of her books, but March has been on my wishlist for a while. This is a title I haven’t heard about, but it sounds really good. Will look for it.

    1. Not sure how I got this copy. eeek- it might be a loaner to me! I know I gave it to a friend and now I’m not sure if this is that copy back to me. Oh dear.

  3. I’m so pleased to read your review! This book is coming up in December for my book group, and I admit to being a little scared of it. If you liked it then I can breathe again – I’m sure I will, too.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

