One Day

Really Random Tid-bit Thoughts    One Day  by David Nicholls, Vintage Books Contemporaries Edition June 2010, (orig 2009), 438 pages?   (ebook page counts confuse the heck out of me!)

MOTIVATION for READING:    Our October book club selection.

ACTORS in my HEAD:  From the very first line of dialogue, I heard Anne Hathaway’s voice in my head for all the Em parts.  Of course I heard her American not English accent.  I will be curious how she sounds in the movie.    Seeing and hearing Jim Sturgess didn’t bother me as much;  I enjoyed him in 21 and Across the Universe.

THINGS FOUND ON THE WAY TO LOOKING UP SOMETHING ELSE:    I just tbr’d Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell because Jim Sturgess will be in the film with Tom Hanks.  I vaguely recognize this title.   Upon thinking that I should look for it at the library, I see it has been narrated by Scott Brick who has many fans in the audio book listening fandom but alas, I don’t know what to do!  It doesn’t have an mp3 player option and I don’t own an iPod.  I can’t burn to CD so no good for car drives.   BUMMER.    But then, on doing a bit more research on goodreads, I saw a review that it was confusing to listen to so I think I will stick to the print version. I reserved it.

BACK to ONE DAY:  I found it extremely difficult to like Dex.   He was a cad most of the book.  And I grew weary of Em about a third of the way in.   However, overall, I enjoyed the framework of this book – the setting up of visiting scenes every July 15 to see what was going on with these two.

EBOOK ISSUE:   So I downloaded this to my Kindle App on my iPad.   I read this fairly soon after the book club selected it which is risky in that I might forget everything by the time we meet for discussion.    My other BIG problem with ebooks is that once I finish, I have not the physical reminder to stare at me goading me into writing a review.  Thus, the delay and why I’m not giving a traditional COBC (Care’s Online Book Club) review (aka THOUGHTS) post.   If you want to know what it is about, I suggest you click on the book cover icon at the very top of my post here and this will direct you to the goodreads.com synopsis.  Or you can wait until the end of this post where I will link to a few of my bloggy friends who have done an extremely admirable job of giving entertaining and/or insightful reviews.

FRAMING/DAY-in-the-LIFE:  One of the coolest things about this book and what I admired most even if I didn’t like the characters much was how it was all setup.   Oh, I’m mentioned this already.  Still, it’s worthy of being brought up again.  It reminds me that I have a fascination of books that concentrate on pieces of time.   Which offshoots into my interest to read more time-travel books but that’s a barely connected offshoot and not worthy of expounding on here since this book does not have any scifi or time travel.    But, back to Day-in-the-Life books…  I’m thinking of Saturday by Ian McEwan (really WANT to READ THIS!!) and Mrs. Dalloway by our lovely Virginia Woolf.  and I suppose I have to (but Softdrink will likely protest) bring up Ulysses by Joyce.   What else am I missing???  or are there any books that you can think of that return to the same date as the years go by like this one?

SETTING and TIME PERIOD:   This book is set in the UK and a few other places around the globe but the MOST relatable issue is that I graduated from college the same year as Em and Dex (1988).   The cultural references!   YES!!   I think I got most of them (or conveniently forgot any I did not.)

BOOK-MENTIONS:   If you love books that drop in titles of other books, this would count as a contender.  But I didn’t note any of the titles.

GOODREADs.com REVIEWS:   Again, looking at the synopsis on my favorite book tracking site (by clicking on the book cover at top of page – do please tell me if it doesn’t work) will also lead you to reviews by other members and they are ALL. OVER. THE. PLACE.   Which excites me because I am hoping that book club next week will also be diverse and rich and engaging and controversial.  Face it, the polarizing books are the most fun to talk about, right?!    Lots of people (meaning those on goodreads.com and not my bookclubbers) hated Em and Dex or thought it boring or were just aghast at the impatience of a connection or wondered WHY it even existed. Too contrived?  or aghast at a few of the really (there seemed to be many) BAD decisions Em and (mostly) Dex make throughout.   And I guess I can see some of this but I still loved One Day and stand by my enjoyment and fun of the experience.  I thought it FUN and clever.  and the ending… WHOA!!   punch gut – or that point (you know if you read it) and OH MY.  and finally, FINALLY – yes I cried.  I especially liked the Nichols took us back to the first meeting.

piepiepiepie

     RATING:   FOUR slices of CUSTARD-PIE.

white line cuz I can’t seem to space right!

Links to some other real REVIEWS:

Jill of Rhapsody in Books, Jenny’s Books (the infamous(?) “books are like skipping stones” post), Sandy of You GOTTA Read This, and the awesome wonderful Fyrefly’s Google Search of book bloggers for this title.

POEM:

‘What are days for?

Days are where we live.

They come, they wake us

Time and time over.

They are to be happy in:

Where can we live but days?

space

Ah, solving that question

Brings the priest and the doctor

In their long coats

Running over the fields.’

– Philip Larkin, ‘Days’ (and featured just before Part One)

space

BOOK TIE to OTHER BOOK:    David Nicholls says, ‘A debt is owed to Thomas Hardy.”  and it must be noted here that our book club recently read Tess of the D’Ubervilles and the intro to the final section of One Day quotes from this novel.

CLUB DISCUSSION DATE:   We meet Thursday, October 20th.    A few have REALLY liked so far and some are still reading.

JiHIdein

WhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
20 thoughts on “One Day

  1. CLOUD ATLAS!!! YEAAAH! I read that one over the summer and was completely and utterly delighted by it. I think it will end up being my favorite book of the year. I think it would be crazy confusing to listen to (and don’t think it will work as a movie, but that’s beside the point).

    One Day is ANOTHER book I have waiting for me on my shelf. I will get to it. I’m intrigued by the format, if nothing else.

  2. I agree with you, Dex and Em actually kind of drove me a little crazy but I ended up enjoying this book. Oddly though I was able to figure out the ending though right away which I never do. I enjoyed the movie. I think I am one of the few people in the world who did!

  3. Esme

    I bought this enroute to Paris-I knew I was going to finish my first book and my other book was packed. I could not get into it on the plane-but will give it another go. It is sitting in the garage where I dumped it when I emptied out my carryon. How tragic is that.

    1. Let me know what you thinkf it. I’ll try to catch your review if you post but, to be honest, I have been avoiding my reader and letting whim dictate y blog visits. (Now how tragic is that?)

  4. I actually decided not to read or watch this because I was pretty sure the characters would annoy me to death. 🙂 Glad to see I was probably right on that front.

    1. Our book club is this week; I’m excited to share in the discussion. I think the author did a pretty good job – we don’t always have to like the characters again. In the end, I was won over.

  5. Pingback: Q’s Legacy « Care's Online Book Club

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

