The Hunger Games

Thoughts  The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Scholastic 2009, 374 pages, first in a series of 3

I was on an unexpected trip out to Western Kansas and my iPad was losing charge so I desperately needed a paperprint BOOK to read. While frantically perusing the shelves at the Midway Chicago airport, trying to recollect the authors names* that I keep saying I want to read, my eyes fell upon The HUNGER GAMES.

“YES!”

Grabbed it, plunked down a $20 bill and ran back to the gate.  I started immediately.    I read after being told to queue up (Southwest style).   I politely smiled and only showed the cover to the gentleman attempting to converse with me, “What are you reading?”  [I suppose I was rude, since I usually love to engage in such conversation and initiate many in this very same manner!]  I kept reading through take-off and only later, upon hearing that beep-tone that we are are free to unhook our seatbelts, did I see others standing up to gather their overhead luggage.  Oh.  We had landed.

It being midnight, I was not up to reading more during the hour drive home.   But I did manage a few more pages before succumbing to sleep.   I was able to finish the next day.

RATING:  four slices of pie.   Peeta could bake me a gorgeous pie, I expect.

Clicking on the book cover above or on this sentence will take you to the goodreads.com synopsis.  I figure I am one of the very few people left in the world who has not read this already and certainly many of you who are frequent visitors here know what this dystopian thriller is about.  If you are not a frequent visitor here and do NOT know about this trilogy, wow!  and welcome.   Clicking on THIS sentence will give you the results of Fyrefly’s book blog review search for this title.

Do I have to read the next book before I can select a Team Peeta or Team Gale?!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
41 thoughts on “The Hunger Games

  1. Yay! I’m glad you liked it Care! You certainly don’t have to wait to pick a team. Just be mindful there are more choices than Peeta or Gale. I was personally Team Katniss – I didn’t want her to end up with either guy. 😀

  2. I just finished Book Two — I LOVED the first book so much. Second book I liked but not as much… but now I am eagerly waiting for the third from the library. And please, Peeta totally beats Gale. Peeta is a prize.

    1. I must admit all this Team So-and-So finally makes a bit of sense. Methinks book 2 is all about the fighting over Katniss or getting her to wake up to the conflict? It won’t be all sappy love crap, will it?!

  3. Kathy is, in fact, not the last person in the world who hasn’t read the book. I haven’t gotten to it, yet. However, my son has read the series and we own them. What he’s done with the three books is beyond me, but someday I’m sure I’ll find them and get around to reading.

    1. Huh. I really am questioning if I will ever ever get to the others. I think I have much more excitement to get my hands on the Knife of Never Letting Go. and/or Tender Morsels.

    1. Aw. Don’t be sad. Be happy that you completed a set and can participate in all the convos! THAT is often my motivation to read these run-away hits that everyone else has already read. Peer pressure?

  4. I’m bad on planes. I start reading the minute I get to the airport, and I don’t stop until we are ready to get off the plane. I sometimes even wear headphones because people respect that more than reading as a reason to not talk to me. 🙂

    1. I do love a great fast book to read on a plane. I can recall one in particular – I read The Reader (the movie with Kate Winslet?) and started AND finished in perfect timing with the flight. Of course I was all teary while walking off the plane but it couldn’t have been more perfect.

      Aside: I have yet to watch the flick…. Gotta get to that.

  5. Glad to see you enjoyed it. It certainly made the time go by quickly for you. I do the same thing when someone asks what I’m reading, show them the cover in the hopes that they will get the hint that I want to read and not chat to a stranger. I guess I’m antisocial, but I do try not to be rude. LOL

    1. I know! It was rather funny, because usually I WOULD be more personable. and/or, I usually interrupt a reader that is not too absorbed AND it’s a book I already know about.

  6. I get Katniss mixed up with another YA heroine from a book that came out about the same time, Katya from Graceling. Both of these are good books, but I don’t understand the enormous fuss adults sometimes make over them.

    1. Adults are just fussy sometimes. I admit, the hype-phenomena fascinates me, but I don’t often ‘get’ it. At least on this one, I don’t have to be too perplexed with any backlash. (or I just missed it.)

  7. Looks like I’ll be joining Kathy and Nancy in the race to see who the last person on earth to read The Hunger Games will be! It’s in our house somewhere, too… one of my daughters loved it.

  8. Pingback: REVIEW: The Hunger Games | reading comes from writing

  9. Pingback: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins | Iris on Books

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

