Books and Places to Put Books

I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves.
                                                                                                              – Anna Quindlen

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
26 thoughts on “Books and Places to Put Books

  1. When I bought a new bookshelf for the first time ever I didn’t organize it. I just piled books on the floor and put them on the shelf wherever they fell.

  2. I love that nine-box of square shelves! That looks like an excellent size of shelf to have — especially since I see that you can double-stack the books in there! Double-stacking capability is brilliantly useful if you are a book-acquiring fiend.

    1. They were on the floor for months. And STILL on the floor for weeks after I built the shelves! Finally (sort of) organized and stacked them just last week.

    1. And I only want to know where you live so I can borrow! my dream house is a boat. But, I guess I could dream of a big enough boat to have a library…

  3. My kids have seen me use the buffet in the dining room as a book depository for several months when I ran out of room on my bookshelves. Had to finally do some purging. It’s hard to serve a turkey dinner when there are books in the way!

  4. Yes, a great quote! It’s perfect for our family … we have lots of bookshelf space, but also lots of stacked books (and many piles which have toppled … the youngest plays dominoes with oversize picture books, stacking them on end in a chain, then knocking them over.)

  5. Love. We have a book problem but since our last two moves were so traumatic, we got rid of lots of books. But I think we can now safely start building up the collection again…

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

