A Good Man is Hard to Find

Thoughts    A Good Man is Hard to Find and Other Stories by Flannery O’Connor, A Harvest Book • Harcourt Inc. 1981? (orig 1955), 265 pages.

First, I am only commenting on the first story, the title story of this story collection. I may or may not comment on any others. I may or may not have even read any of the other stories. The title story was only 23 pages.

Second, I will share little tidbits of random thoughts. or THOUGHT.

Third, this might be very short.

Fourth? go forth?  hmmmm.

I read this now because I am not sure I have ever read anything by Ms. O’Connor.  It’s likely I read this in High School but I’m not sure. I was inspired to read this by the Southern Lit Challenge.

All this story does is remind me that EVERY TIME PERIOD IN HISTORY had bad people.   That EVERY TIME PERIOD IN HISTORY had people pining for the ‘GOOD ol’ DAYS’ when we could trust people and crime was unheard of.   That there never was and never will be any GOOD ol’ DAYS and whenever people start yapping that CRIME IS RAMPANT!  blahblahblah, well.

CRIME was RAMPANT yesterday and ten years ago and fifty years ago and can we please stop watching sensational TV already?

Chilling.

It reminded me that In Cold Blood by Truman Capote had me thinking these same thoughts.     Which NOW reminds me that if you want to read an amazing review of In Cold Blood by Truman Capote just click over to LitLove’s recent review on Tales from the Reading Room.

.

That’s all I got.   Have a great day.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
19 thoughts on “A Good Man is Hard to Find

  1. Don’t you love the last line about how she’d have been a good woman if there had been someone there to shoot her every minute of her life? I love the way that strips the grandmother of pretention without saying that a truly good person is impossible to find.

    1. Sure. Honestly? the characters reminded me of the Vacation movies. The grandmother so annoyed me. The word WRY is what I think of for the writing style. Or is it tone?
      Reviewing short styles make me think about setup, language, tone, framing and all that stuff I don’t think about when I’m actually reading.

  2. I read this a couple years ago, and it so shocked me. I had no idea what it was about, so the violence came out of left field! I think it’s time to read more O’Connor…I’m in the mood for some wonderful Southern writing, especially by women (have a Carson McCullers out from library now).

  3. Eva had a link to this story online a while back. I’d never read any O’Connor before, so of course with Eva’s recommendation, I had to go read it. Yeah, your “Chilling” comment about summed it up for me! Chilling, but a damn good story.

  4. I’ve been meaning to read O’Connor for ages. We probably read her in high school, too, but I can’t remember it – wonder if this will seem familiar to me…

  5. I own this book but I think I’ve only read the title story as well! I keep collecting volumes of short stories but never seem to read them. They’re so hard to describe in blog postings.

  6. I can’t remember the word I’m supposed to use when I like your review but have nothing to say. Tiddlywinks? Pompom? Wait — is it tiddlypom? No, that doesn’t sound right. Well, then . . . I guess I’ll just go hide under a pillow until the hot weather passes or it’s time to get on a plane to Boston. Great review!

  7. Flannery O’Connor is not my favorite author in the world, but I find her sense of humor hilarious. When we read her short stories in high school, I thought they were a riot and everybody else thought they were sad and depressing. (I still maintain they are both.)

  8. She’s amazing. She’s one of our most amazing authors. I love her even when she creeps me out- which is always!
    p.s. I have a review of In Cold Blood up right now too. LOVED that book. Another American classic!

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

