Tuesday Topicals June 21, 2011

Happy Summer Solstice!   The LONGEST brightest most-sunshiny day of the year!

I *think* it is today.   That’s what my quick google research resulted in telling me, but when I researched sunrise and sunset times, it seemed to me that yesterday was longer by one minute.   Whateveh?!   i have not seen any press on it, which strikes me odd.  oh well.

The point here is that I wanted to blog today and I don’t have any books I want to review.  I’m in the middle of #windupbird by #murakami over in Tweet-Land and have about 150 pages still to read.   What a long book.    Fitting for a long day.

But I have chores to complete:  laundry, mow, vacuum & dust (I mean, dust and then vacuum), give more attention to some spots on the carpet, pick up dog poop (which will get done before the mowing – obviously, this list is not in order), write some ThankYou notes, find my IKEA receipt that will save me $.037 on my next purchase (seriously?!) which will be tomorrow when I meet Dawn of She Is Too Fond of Books, and call my aunt.   That last item is probably the most important of all the tasks.   I have to be at work at 4:15 ish.   I’m working the evening shift.

So here are my little literary tidbits for this Tuesday:

I get to read Still Missing by Chevy Stevens for next book club.   I ended up not having the choice because our boat arrived that week and the day of club was the only day my husband had to clean and move in.  This book looks terrifying.     I’m a little nervous about it.

I have a few reviews I could write but it’s been so long already!  Tess of the D’Urbervilles, a few DNFs and not-yet-gotten-to-part-2s and True Grit but I want to wait and see the latest movie and wrap it up as read-book-see-movie post.

and, finally, the boat is awesome.    I really like it and we are just thrilled.  Hopefully the sign guys will put our name  on the vessel this week.    Here’s a photo from Sunday morning – Esther’s first boat ride.    She did fine.

Have a Great Summer!!!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
16 thoughts on “Tuesday Topicals June 21, 2011

  1. The boat looks lovely. Love the sign/name too. I love when book bloggers blog about stuff other than books. It gives me a better idea of who they are. So , don’t ever feel as if you need an excuse. Although, the summer soltice is a pretty awesome reason too.

  2. Every year when this day rolls around, I think of the moment in The Great Gatsby when Daisy asks the others, “Do you always watch for the longest day of the year and then miss it? I always watch for the longest day of the year and then miss it,” or something like that. As a consequence of this line in this book, I never ever miss this day. :p

  3. What a fabulous picture! You look so relaxed, as everyone should be in summer. I hope you were able to get everything done and still be able to enjoy this longest day of the year!

  4. The boat looks gorgeous (don’t dare share that photo with my husband!). And I really want to read Murakami some point this summer, so glad to know you are getting through it okay – he scares me a bit! But I love the longest day, apart from the little voice that reminds me that the light will be gradually be dying now until the winter solstice… Still! Lots of lovely summer still to come. 🙂

  5. That’s so great that you get to meet another book blogger! I’m heading back to Sedalia next week, but I don’t think there are any book bloggers close by… pout. Oh well, I’ll just console myself with some catfish and beer.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

