Birthday Pie

Happy Birthday!!! to FizzyThoughts Jill and to my wonderful husband Dj!   AND TRISHA‘s, too!!!!      It’s a celebration.    (actually, the hub’s is tomorrow…)

Bourbon Apple Pie

Recipe adapted from page 223, Liz Reiter’s All-Granny Slug-O-Bourbon Spiced Apple Pie, of this book:    Author:  Ken Haedrich. I actually added a Golden Delicious apple and a spare pear because I didn’t think I had enough filling.   I made this two years ago at this same time. It’s hub’s favorite.

Last year, I wrote Jill a poem for her birthday and probably because April is National Poetry Month.

I had to google for quotes about ‘birthday pie’;   allow me to share:

A new novel called Birthday Pie by Arthur Wooten is out this year    and funny enough, the word ‘bourbon’ is on the cover…    I’m putting it on my to-be-read list despite the fact that the only rating, a 5 star, is from the author.

and this from comedian Jim Gaffigan:

“Pie can’t compete with cake. Put candles in a cake, it’s a birthday cake. Put candles in a pie, and somebody’s drunk in the kitchen.”

.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
18 thoughts on “Birthday Pie

  1. I think birthday pie is an excellent idea. It is a little easier if it’s a one-crust pie, but who cares? My husband’s birthday is in a couple of weeks, I may have to make this recipe. Sounds amazing.

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

