Notice of Care

Hello!   Just a few oddball tidbits to share on my book journey through life…

NOTICE notice |ˈnōtis|noun
1 attention; observation : their silence did not escape my noticeit has come to our notice that you have been missing school blog.
2 notification or warning of something, esp. to allow preparations to be made: interest rates are subject to fluctuation without notice. •  a formal declaration of one’s intention to end an agreement, typically one concerning employment or tenancy, at a specified time : she handed in her notice.
3 a displayed sheet or placard giving news or information : the jobs were advertised in a notice posted in the common room. •  a small advertisement or announcement in a newspaper or magazine : anobituary notice. • (usu. notices) a short published review or comment about a new film, play, or book : she had good notices in her first film.

Jousting with Joyce and I have never had a jousting lesson.   Honestly, I’m getting this feeling that I’ve been thrown into a pool and only then realized I don’t know how to swim.   That I’ve signed up to run a marathon and have yet to first see if I can run one mile, let alone 26.    That I haven’t read the Odyssey and it might be a wee bit helpful.   That I am not ready for Ulysses at this time.

Here’s the latest sentence I read which is page 61 out of 2548 of my iBook version:

Buck Mulligan at once put on a blithe broadly smiling face.

blithe |blīð; blīθ|adjective  –  showing a casual and cheerful indifference considered to be callous or improper : a blithe disregard for the rules of the road.• happy or joyous : a blithe seaside comedy.

Although these next words are some of my least favorite to ever have been strung together:  I-AM-TOO-BUSY!   I’m about to go on a trip, I have annoying accounting to do before I can submit my tax crap to the Tax Lady, my husband has challenged me to pull a few hundred (*cough*) dollars out of the budget OR GET A REAL JOB (*sigh*), my house needs to be cleaned, I’m behind on my goal to read 100 books (I know, I know), and of course, we had a Super Bowl party.  That’s over but it still distracted me all weekend and again, did I not say that my house needs to be cleaned?  Yes, yes I did.

So, instead…   I read Sarah Allen Addison’s DELIGHTFUL   Sugar Queen and I don’t know if the refreshing charming sweetness of this lovely little lovely book was just that much more palatable than Ulysses, but they didn’t compare in enjoyment level.

I also watched The Social Network and thought the movie made Zuckerberg look much more like an asshole than the book did. Just sayin’.   I know I mentioned that The Accidental Billionaires book might have a skewed representation of the whole startup-of-Facebook thing, but I didn’t know I would have to defend the author in his writing it anyway without having interviewed the keyest of the key guys.  But I do. I think he did a fair job of it; especially now that I’ve seen the movie (which has more of the lawsuit deposition/trial stuff).

I don’t know if I will write a review of Sugar Queen anytime soon.   Perhaps I will go UNPLUGGED instead.   But do know (Softdrink, I’m looking at you!  🙂  ) that I am ONLY taking Ulysses and Tom Rachman’s The Imperfectionists in eReader format with me on my vacation.

OK, thank you.   Carry on.

Oh, and tomorrow is Book Journey Sheila‘s birthday, FYI.   🙂

.

JHIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
18 thoughts on “Notice of Care

  1. I quote Amanda all the way: you are a brave soul!
    And: a goal of 100 books a year PLUS reading Ulysses? I wouldn’t even think of trying (ok, I wouldn’t try Ulysses ever again…), but if you had the courage to challenge yourself, I am sure you can also pull it off!
    Enjoy your vacation, and happy reading!

  2. Ruthiella

    I feel for you Care! I read Ulysses two years ago and it took months! Well, I say I “read” it. I read every word. Whether or not I understood it, well that is another thing. I found reading with a study guide, like Cliff Notes, was very helpful.

    As for cleaning your house: I cleaned “well” on Friday because I had overnight guests. The last time I cleaned “well” was back in December, when I had house guests. The fear of someone else’s dissaproval is really the best thing to get me moving!

  3. Well, I must say not to be discouraged about Ulysses, it took me over two years because you can’t read much at a time! But it is worth it just because of how influential it is.
    And hey – anyone who loves to read the way we do never has a clean house. Because if you did, it would mean you were behind in your reading!!

  4. Ok funny girl! I see how you slipped that last sentence in there my fellow 9!

    The fact that you Jill, Trisha and a few other brave souls are reading Ulysses astounds me. I shake uncontrolably when I stand to close to that book…. it frightens me.

    Have a super break and eat lots of pie!

  5. Oh, vacation … oh, unplugging … sounds wonderful!

    THE IMPERFECTIONISTS is on my wish list (ULYSSES is not … yet!)

    I’m chuckling at the title of this blog post. It sounds like a proclamation of “I shall care.”

    How’s that for some blithely disjointed commenting?!

    Happy, happy!

  6. Ok missy–having just read The Odyssey I can assure you it would NOT be helpful. Not harmful but not helpful. Stop stressing so much, grab that jousting stick and pierce away. 😉 If ANY of us say we’re understanding Ulysses, we’re lying through our teeth. Like dogs.

    Does that help? 😉

  7. I attempted Ulysses about 10 years ago. And gave up after the first chapter. Maybe I’m just not smart enough. I did enjoy “A Portrait of the Artist As A Young Man” but I can’t get through U. Anyway — I think I have Sugar Queen at home somewhere… good to know it’s good for a palate cleanser. 🙂

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

