Happy National Pie Day!

Thanks to Twitter Pals @Vasilly and @ChrisBookaRama and @BooksandWine, I was reminded that today is National Pie Day according to the American Pie Council.    and guess what!?   I was taking a break from making a pie to check my blog and Twitter!  Can you say ‘serendipity’?

This Chocolate -Strawberry Pie was loosely inspired by a pie from the movie Waitress.   I first layered a chocolate pudding, then a mixture of whipped cream – marshmallow Fluff – cream cheese and a touch of Chambord and the top layer of sliced fresh strawberries.   The berries taste so good, I didn’t want to cook them down into the traditional glazed strawberry concoction.    It’s now in the fridge chillin’;  awaiting its place as final course dessert to my husband’s sausage-escarole-white bean soup dinner.

FYI, March 14 is PI (Π) day and I will make a pie that day, too.    We can also expect a pie on Pi Approximation Day, July 22.   Read why here. 🙂

Now, back to Bloggiesta!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
24 thoughts on “Happy National Pie Day!

  1. Your strawberry pie looks to die for. . . great job with the strawberry pattern. And I LOVED Waitress! I was drooling and I just wanted to taste all those pies. . . I wonder if they gave recipes in the DVD extras. I actually have all the makings of an apple pie so I might have to make one today. Thanks for the heads up.

  2. Wow, what a coincidence! I too made pie this weekend, although in my case it was meat pies, so not pie in the classical sense. Still counts! I sang the pie song from Waitress while I was doing it. :p Your pie looks delicious.

    1. Polar Plunge! GOOD for you! They do that here, too. I wonder if it is the same day – everywhere? do you know? Guess I will just ask. IS that where you collect pledges if you really do it? I would give to your campaign… do you have an online way to give?! 🙂 Maybe I’ll go look but do send me a link if you got one.

      I will make you a pie in honor, too. How about a Peppermint Patty Ice Cream Pie – would that work?

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

